Published On : Thu, Aug 20th, 2015

Chowk behind Vidhan Bhavan named as Vasantrao Naik Chowk

Vasantrao Naik Namkaran News photos 18 Augst 2015 (1)Nagpur: The chowk behind Vidhan Bhavan, adcent to Forest office, Vidya Bhavan and Zero Mile in the vicinity of Civil Lines has been renamed as Late Vasantrao Naik Chowk on the occasion of his 36th Smruti Divas on Aug 18, informed a press release.

The function to mark the event was jointly organized by Nagpur Municipal Corporation and Bhartiya Adivasi Bhatke-Vimukta
Youth Front, Nagpur.

It was inaugurated by MLA Sudhakarrao Deshmukh while Mayor Pravin Datke chaired the function in the prominent presence of standing committee chairman Ramesh Shingare, Dharampeth Zone chairperson Varsha Thakre, Dhanoti Zone chairperson Lata Yadav, Amravati charity commissioner Amit Chavan, assistant commissioner Rajesh Karade, assistant commissioner Ganesh Rathod, Vijaysingh Rathod and others.

In his inaugural address, MLA Deshmukh said, late Vasantrao Naik was Chief Minister of Maharashtra for 11 consecutive years, providing excellent administration to the state and doing memorable works for poor farmers in terms of their economic prosperity and self-dependence, introducing employment guarantee scheme for rural masses during the period of drought in year 1972, which in due curse of time turned into national scheme as MNAREGS (Mahatma Gandhi Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme). He also introduced water conservation scheme as well as cotton monopoly procurement scheme with guaranteed price to cotton growers, and so, naming of the chowk in his name is honouring the concept of ‘social equality’ as enshrined in the Constitution by Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar.

Bhartiya Adivasi Bhatke Miukta Youth Front president Raju Chavan said that it had been their intense desire that the chowk benamed after Vassantrao Naik, which was today fulfilled, and he thanked the NMC administration.

In his presidential address, Mayor Datke said that late Vasantrao Naik was a unique chief minister gifted to Maharashtra, for he raised up the name of Vidarbha too. He felt a great pride in naming the chowk, adjacent to the monument of Democracy, the Vidhan Bhavan, after Vasantrao Naik’s name. Other guests also expressed their views.

At the outset, the traditional lamp was lighted at the hands of guests, the picture of late Vasantrao Naik garlanded and the stone-made name-plate was ceremonially unveiled. The Mayor and other guests were honoured with shawl and shriphal on this occasion.
Also present in the function were Adivasi Bhatke Vimukta Youth Front activists Manoj Rahod, Kishor Jadhav, Mukund Adewar, Kundan Shete, R D Jadhav, Prof Vinatai Jadhav, Vijay Khode, Ravikant Dongare, Gajanan Atram, Sushmita Purke, Maheshwari Atram and others.
The proceedings were conducted by Dr Punam Chavan while the vote of thanks was proposed by Kishor Jadhav, said the release.

Rajeev Ranjan Kushwaha (