Published On : Mon, Jan 11th, 2016

Choudhary bags Maharashtra Kesri crown for second time defeating Jadhav

d264461-largeNagpur: In an exciting bout, defending champion Jalgaon’s Vijay Choudhary floored Vikrant Jadhav of Mumbai to retain Maharashtra Kesri title in 59th Maharashtra Kesri Wrestling Championship that concluded at Chitnis Park in Nagpur on Sunday.

With this victory Choudhary has become sixth wrestler who has become ‘double’ Maharashtra Kesri.

maharashtra-kesariIn front of 20,000 spectators, Choudhary, a disciple of Rohit Patel with an intention to defend the title played aggressively right from the beginning. Due to negative tendency of his rival Vikrant Jadhav he got one point. Taking an advantage of it, Choudhary earned two points more and was leading by 3-0 in first three minutes. In next phase, Vikrant coached by Arjuna awardee Kaka Pawar applied ‘Bharandaj’ and earned two points. But again Vijay earned one point following the negativity of Vikrant.With last 30 seconds remaining Choudhary floored Jadhav and the spectators bursted into jubilation.

Choudhary received Rs 1 lakh cash and Mamasaheb Mohod memorial silver mase at the hands of Maharashtra chief minister Devendra Fadnavis while runners-up Vikrant Jadhav got Rs 50,000.

Gold for Jadhav, Choudhary in 125 kg

In the morning session, in 125 kg mat final, Vikrant Jadhav of Mumbai East defeated Mahesh Mohod of Pune 17-10 in an exciting bout that lasted for full six minutes to claim the gold. In the presence of lots of supporters of both the wrestlers, Mahesh took four points initially. But then Vikrant recovered and earned ten points to take the lead in first round. In second round, Vikrant had an upper hand. On to occasion Mahesh had a narrow escape.

Gradually Vikrant tightened his grip and won the tie 17-10.In dirt section, defending champion Vijay Choudhary floored Bala Rafiq Sheikh within 2.15 minutes.

Maharashtra chief minister Devendra Fadnavis has announced that from now onwards Maharashtra Kesri title winner will get direct job in police department.

He was speaking during the concluding function of 59th Maharashtra Kesri Wrestling Championship. Speaking further he said, the state government will always support the sportspersons. He said, ” It is an old demand to give patronage to wrestling in State. Giving a nod to this demand it has been decided to give direct recruitment to the Maharashtra Kesri title winner in police department”. Fadnavis expressed the regret over the delay in distribution of State sports award.

Guardian minister and organising committee chairman Chandrashekhar Bawankule, MP Kripal Tumane, MP Ramdas Tadas, mayor Praveen Datke, MLAs Krishna Khopde, Sudhakar Kohale, Dr Milind Mane, Vikas Kumbhare, Sameer Meghe, Sudhakar Deshmukh, Mallikarjun Reddy, MLC Girish Vyas, DR Ashish Deshmukh, Mahesh Landge and ZP chairperson Nisha Sawarkar also shared the dais.

Bawankule made introductory remarks .Balasaheb Landge also expressed his thoughts.

Ganpat Khedkar (1965, 1965); Dadu Chougule (1969, 1970); Laxman Wadar (1972, 1973); Chandrahar Patil (2007 , 2008); Narsing Yadav (2011, 2012, 2013) and Vijay Choudhary (2015, 2016).