Published On : Mon, Jan 9th, 2017

BJP wins majority in Umred, Vidarbha Majha grabs Katol


Representational Pic

Nagpur: The BJP won majority of the seats in Umred Nagar Parishad. Of the 25 seats, BJP won 19 while Congress finished at just 6. Vijayalakshmi Bhadoria (BJP) is the President. Newly-formed Vidarbha Majha opened its account with a bang, winning majority of the seats in Katol Nagar Parishad. Of the total 23 seats, Vidarbha Majha won on 18 seats, whereas PWP and BJP got one each. Vaishali Thakur (Vidarbha Majha) is the president. In the last phase of the local body elections, only victory for the NCP came from Narkhed.

Of the total 17 seats in Narkhed Nagar Parishad, NCP won 8 whereas Nagar Vikas Aaghadi won 5, Shiv Sena- 3
Independent- 1. Abhijeet Gupta of Nagar Vikas Aaghadi is the president.

Similarly, the BJP emerged as the largest party in the Saoner Nagar Parishad. Of the 20 seats BJP won 14, while Congress could only win 6. Rekha Muwade (BJP) is the president there.

This way the BJP has registered victory in 4 Nagar Parishads -Ramtek, Umred, Saoner & Khapa. Congress, NCP and Vidarbha Majha won one municipal council each. The Congress-NCP alliance also won elections in Kalmeshwar. No party got majority in Narkhed Nagar Parishad. Nagar Vikas Aaghadi candidate won president’s post in Narkhed.