| | Contact: 8407908145 |
    Published On : Thu, Oct 15th, 2015
    National News | By Nagpur Today Nagpur News

    Bihar Polls: Second phase of polling to take place on Friday


    • 6 districts declared sensitive due to Naxal menace; challange for security forces
    • Voting time curtailed by one hour, 7 am to 3 pm, Naxal affected areas

    Patna/ Nagpur: The second phase of voting in Bihar Assembly elections will take place on Friday with voters set to decide the fate of 456 candidates in 32 constituencies spread over six Naxal-hit districts, posing a big challenge to security forces.The sensitive districts are Kaimur, Rohtas, Arwal, Jehanabad, Aurangabad and Gaya, said media reports.

    After the completion of the first phase of polling in 49 seats, the second phase saw NDA sharpening its attack on the grand secular alliance in the backdrop of a sting video that purportedly showed a minister accepting a Rs 4 lakh bribe.

    Prime Minister  Narendra Modi grabbed the ‘windfall’ with both hands and flagged it at his rallies in Jehanabad and Bhubua on October 12, a day after the damning video showed up on the 113th birth anniversary of socialist icon Jayaprakash Narayan.

    The second phase of polling constitutes a great challenge for the security personnel as the six districts are heavily affected by Naxalism. In view of the security concerns, voting time has been curtailed by one hour and two hours in as many as 23 constituencies.

    Additional Chief Electoral Officer R Lakshamanan said that while voting would start at 7 a.m. in all 32 constituencies, it would end at 3 PM in 11 constituencies and at 4 PM at 12 others. Only 9 seats would have scheduled voting from 7 AM to 5 PM.

    A total of 86,13,870 electors are expected to decide the fate of 456 candidates, 32 out of whom are women. There are 9,119 polling stations. A total of 993 companies of central paramilitary forces and state police would be deployed on the day to ensure peaceful voting. As many as 334 companies would be in service in Gaya, 201 in Rohtas and 193 in Aurangabad.

    While the contest on all the seats is intense, the battle at Imamganj (reserved SC seat) would be keenly watched where former chief minister Jitan Ram Manjhi of HAM is locked in a straight contest with the speaker of the outgoing assembly Uday Narain Chaudhary of JD(U). Chaudhary is a five-term MLA from the seat.

    Manjhi is also trying his luck from Makhdumpur seat in Jehanabad too.

    Senior BJP leader and former minister Prem Kumar (Gaya town), former state unit chief of the saffron party Gopal Narayan Singh (Nabinagar) and state minister Jay Kumar Singh (Dinara) are among those whose fate would be decided in this phase.

    Stay Updated : Download Our App
    Mo. 8407908145