Published On : Thu, Oct 12th, 2017

Bhandup By-election Results: BJP’s Jagruti Patil Wins By-poll

Mumbai: Counting of votes for the by-election results of Tarabai Park ward of Kolhapur Municipal Corporation (KMC) and Koregaon Park of Pune Municipal Corporation (PMC) is underway. The by-election to Tarabai Park of KMC ward recorded 57.66 per cent voting on Wednesday. The ward No 21 (Koregaon Park and Ghorpadi) of PMC on Wednesday recorded merely 20.78 per cent of voting amid a very poor response by local voters.

In Koregaon Park ward of PMC, a by-election was necessitated after former deputy mayor Navnath Kamble, who had won from this ward, passed away in May this year. The Tarabai Park seat of KMC fell vacant after corporator Nilesh Desai was disqualified earlier this year for submitting a fake caste certificate.

Himali Kamble contested the by-election in Koregaon Park ward as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Republican Party of India (RPI) alliance candidate. Six candidates besides Kamble contested, including Dhananjay Gaikwad of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), and other independents. The Congress, Shiv Sena, Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) and All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) did not contest the by-poll.