Published On : Thu, Jan 26th, 2017

Bawankule vows to take Maharashtra ahead in 21st century

Guardian Minister Chandrashekhar Bawankule unfurled the tricolor at 68th Republic Day function held at Kasturchand Park Ground here on Thursday. The Minister later inspected the parade and took the salute from the marching contingents.

Other dignitaries who graced the function include Divisional Commissioner Anup Kumar, Commissioner of Police Dr K Venkatesham, District Collector Sachin Kurve, Special IGP Patankar and other senior officials, freedom fighters and prominent citizens.

A colourful parade was the attraction of the event. Contingents of SRPF, Nagpur Police Force, Nagpur Rural Police Force, Railway Police, Home Guards, NCC, Fire Brigade marched in the parade. Similarly students of Rajkumar Kewalramani Vidyalaya, Rajendra High school, Prahar Military School, Sanskar Vidyasagar, St Ursula Girls School, and other organizations also took part.

Extending the Republic Day greetings to citizens, Bawankule said that the government, administration and people should come together and take the country into 21st century. “We all should make commitment to fulfill the Vision 2020 dream of former President late Dr APJ Abdul Kalam. Efforts should be made to reach fruits of development to the last man of the society,” the minister said.

Best marchers and prize distribution:
The contingents in parade were led by Police Sub-Inspectors Vikram Kadam and Tryambak Pradhan. The contingent of Prahar Military School bagged the best contingent prize and received the trophy at the hands of Bawankule. The second prize was won by band squad of St Ursula Girls High School and the third prize went to NCC Platoon. A total of 21 contingents and tableaus participated in the parade. The parade also witnessed singing of Vande Mataram, dumbel drill and karate demonstration.

DCP Suhas Prakash Bawne, Additional SP Dattatray Rathod, API Vishveshwar Sambhaji Hanumante were honoured with DGP’s Medals.

Other dignitaries present on the occasion include ZP President Neesha Savarkar, freedom fighter Yadavrao Devgade, Municipal Commissioner Shravan Hardikar, ZP CEO Dr Kadambari Balkawde, and other prominent personalities.