Published On : Fri, Mar 25th, 2016

Balya Borkar elected as Chairman of NMC’s Transport Committee unopposed

Balya Borkar
BJP Corporator from Prabhag 32-B Narendra (Balya) Govindrao Borkar was elected unopposed as Chairman of Transport Committee of Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC) for the year 2016-17 the other day. A special meeting of Transport Committee was held in the Dr Panjabrao Deshmukh Meeting Hall of Standing Committee for the election and it was presided over by District Collector Sachin Kurve as Designated Election Officer.

Narendra Borkar submitted a set of two nomination papers to the Designated Election Officer within the stipulated period of nominations. In one of the nomination papers, Sumitra Jadhav signed it as proposer while Divya Ghurde signed as seconder. The other set of nomination was proposed by Govind Kumre while Vandana Ingole seconded the nomination papers of Balya Borakr.

Since no other candidate filed the nomination papers within the stipulated period, the Designated Election Officer Sachin Kurve declared Balya Borkar elected as Chairman of Transport Committee. The newly elected Chairman will take the charge of office on Saturday (March 26) at 10.30 am in the chamber of Transport Committee’s Chairman in Civil Lines.

Soon after the election of Narendra Borkar as Chairman of Transport Committee he was greeted by Mayor Pravin Datke, Deputy Mayor Munna Pokulwar, Standing Committee Chairman Sudhir Raut, Ruling Party Leader Dayashankar Tiwari, and others by offering him buquets and tulsi sapling.