Published On : Thu, Jan 25th, 2018

And the winners of the Padma Shree awards are…

New Delhi: The Padma awards, which seek to recognise works of distinction and exceptional achievements in different fields, were announced today.

The winners of the Padma Shree are:
Rajagopalan Vasudevan – Science & Engineering (Innvoation)
Subhasini Mistry – Social work
Vijayalakshmi Navaneethakrishnan – Literature & education (affordable education)
Sulagatti Narasamma – Medicine
Yeshi Dhoden – Medicine
Arvind Gupta – Literature & education (affordable education)
Lakshmikutty – Medicine (snake bite)
Bhajju Shyam – Art (Painting – Gond Art)
Sudhanshu Biswas – Social service
MR Rajagopal – Medicine (Palliative Care)
Murlikant Petkar – Sports

They are given in different fields and disciplines such as art, literature and education, sports, medicine, social work, science and engineering, public affairs, civil service,
trade and industry.

More than 15,700 people applied for the prestigious awards for 2018, with the government laying stress on honouring the unsung heroes.