Published On : Mon, Jan 12th, 2015

Abhijit Kokate, another star from Nagpur to glitter in Bollywood after Hirani, Subhash Ghai and Sonu Sood

Abhijit Kokate


Nagpur has given many big personalities in various fields who are in the top league in their respective fields. In Bollywood too, our Nagpur Boys are doing great. From the Numero Uno Film Director Raj Kumar Hirani and Numero Uno Showman Subhash Ghai, to top actor Sonu Sood, everyone has their deep and strong connections with Nagpur.

Another new Star to glitter in the galaxy of Nagpurites Stars in Bollywood, is none other than Abhijit Kokate. Born and brought up in Nagpur, he received rave reviews for his film editing work in one of the top 5 movie of 2015, “Queen”. Nagpur Today interviewed him soon after release of “Queen”.

As the awards season has started in Bollywood, Abhijit is getting nominated for Best Editing/Editor Category for “Queen” in almost every award function.

Lo and behold, he already won his first award for Best Editing from the prestigious “Star Guild Awards”. In a star studded award ceremony which happened last night i.e. 11th January 2015, Abhijit received his award from Ratan Jain. He is also nominated for “Screen Awards” which is due on 14th January, 2015.

Ofcourse, our master film director from Nagpur, Mr. Raj Kumar Hirani too won Best Director Award for PK along with Vikas Bahl for Queen. PK won best film award too.

Below is the complete list of Star Guild Awards 2015 Winners

Technical Award winner

Best Editing – Anurag Kashyap & Abhijit Kokate (Queen)

Best Cinematography – Satyajit Pande/SETU (Dedh Ishqiya)

Best Art Direction – Amit Ray &  Subrata Chakraborty (Dedh Ishqiya)

Best Sound Design – Shajith Koyeri (Haider)

Best Sound Mixing – Debajit Changmai (Kick) and Anup Dev (PK)

Best Special Effects – Keitan Yadav & Haresh Hingorani, Red Chillies VFX (Happy New Year)

Best Costume Design – Payal Saluja (Dedh Ishqiya) and Isha Mantry & Rajat K Tangri(Mary Kom)

Popular Award Winners

Best Screenplay – Vikas Bahl, Chaitallya Parmar & Parvez Shaikh (Queen)

Best Story – Vikas Bahl, Chaitallya Parmar & Parvez Shaikh (Queen)

Best Dialogue – Abhijat Joshi & Raj Kumar Hirani (PK)

Best Choreography – Bosco – Ceaser (Song Tu Meri, Bang Bang)

Best Lyrics – Manoj Muntashir (Song Galliyan, Ek Villian)

Best Music – Ankit Tiwari (Song Galliyan, Ek Villian)

Best Male Singer – Ankit Tewari (Song Galliyan, Ek Villian)

Best Female Singer – Kanika Kapoor (Song Baby Doll, Ragini MMS 2)

Best Performance In A Comic Role – Varun Dhawan (Main Tera Hero)

Best Performance In A Negative Role – Riteish Deshmukh (Ek Villian)

Best Actor In A Supporting Role – Abhishek Bachchan (Happy New Year)

Best Actress In A Supporting Role – Tabu (Haider)

Most Promising Debut (Male) – Tiger Shroff (Heropanti)

Most Promising Debut (Female) – Kreeti Sanon (Heropanti)

Most Promising Debut (Director)- Omung Kumaar (Mary Kom)

Best Actor In A Leading Role – Shahid Kapoor (Haider)

Best Actress In A Leading Role – Priyanka Chopra (Mary Kom)

Best Director – Raj Kumar Hirani (PK) and Vikas Bhal (Queen)

Best Film – Rajkumar Hirani & Vinod Chopra from Rajkumar Hirani Films Pvt. Ltd & Vinod Chopra Films (PK)

Other Special Category Awards

Lifetimes Achievement Award- Rakesh Roshan

Films who made more than 100 Crore- Bang Bang, Ek Villian, Happy New Year, Holiday, Jai Ho, Kick, PK, Singham Returns & 2 states

The Guild Presidents Awards- Highway , Mary Kom

Gionee Most Stylish Youth Icon- Alia Bhatt

Bagate Raho Dialogue of the Year by RED FM- Mary Kom

AK ABAAS award for social consciousness in Cinema- Citylights

Star Plus Shining Superstar Award- Shraddha Kapoor

Hindustan Times Celebrity for a cause- Priyanka Chopra