Published On : Mon, Jan 23rd, 2017

7th National Voters’ Day to be celebrated in city on Jan 25

National Voters Day
The Seventh National Voters’ Day will be celebrated on January 25 to mark formation of Election Commission of India. The Election Commission was formed on January 25, 1950. The significance of this day is to encourage youngsters, who have reached the age of 18, of the country to participate in the electoral process, by enrolling or registering themselves in electoral rolls and to exercise their franchise.

In Nagpur, the Seventh National Voters’ Day will be celebrated at a function to be held at Dr Vasantrao Deshpande Hall on January 25. During the event, the electoral cards will be distributed to new voters.

The State Election Commission, with the aim of spreading awareness among voters regarding effective participation in the electoral process, has made some eminent personalities as its Brand Ambassadors. These include renowned social activist Vikas Baba Amte, RTMNU Vice Chancellor Dr Sidhartvinayak Kane, Gandhi Thoughts proponent Vibha Gupta, former cricketer Prashant Vaidya, young entrepreneur Hasan Sharif, young IAS Officer Aman Mittal, Skin Bank Founder Dr Samir Jahagirdar, noted badminton player Arundhati Pantaone, and internationally famed table tennis player Mallika Bhandarkar. These Brand Ambassadors will grace the January 25 function.

The above information was shared with media by State Deputy Election Officer Shirish Mohod at a press meet held at Divisional Commissioner’s Office here on Monday.