Published On : Mon, Jan 30th, 2017

5 candidates file nominations on Day-4, 22 contestants booked for code violation

The nomination process for NMC poll seems to be going at snail’s pace as only six candidates have filed papers till today since the exercise got off to a start on January 25. On the contrary, the Election Department has filed FIRs at against 22 candidates so far for violation of model code of conduct across the zones.

Those six candidates who have filed their nominations include Jyoti Janbandhu from Prabhag 7A, Abdul Qadir Mohd Qasim Sheikh from Prabhag 27D, Dnyneshwar Ramaji Bhivgade from Prabhag 28D, Kevalkumar Mohanlal Nehroliya from Prabhag 13A, and Jagdish Ramesh Khare from Prabhag 17A. The five candidates filed their papers on Day 4 i.e on Monday. On Sunday, Ratmala Umredkar had filed papers from Prabhag 22.

Candidates against whom FIRs have been lodged include BJP’s Vicky Kukreja, Bhimsena’s Shridhar Salve, Sharad Yadav. These three candidates were booked on Sunday. On Monday, one BSP candidate, Shiv Sena’s Mahesh Umredkar, Aman Sangole, Congress’ Ajay Channor and others were booked for code violation.


The NMC Election Officer Ravindra Kumbhare said that a meeting of representatives of banks was convened at 4 pm on Monday. All the contesting candidates have been directed to open separate accounts in banks specifically for poll expenses. The accounts can be opened without PAN cards. For deposit or withdrawal of Rs 50,000, PAN card is must. Cashless transaction or by cheque transaction will be without problems.

Following is the list of candidates booked for violation of code of conduct:
aachar sahita