Published On : Tue, Feb 5th, 2013
Education | By Nagpur Today Nagpur News

What is NEET – National Eligibility Entrance Test?

Nagpur News : In the year 2012, the Central government had planned to conduct national level common entrance exam called National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET) for Medical / Dental courses admissions across the country.

The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE), New Delhi is the conducting body for the National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET). CBSE will conduct the NEET exam for Undergraduate and Postgraduate Medical / Dental courses admissions. For Undergraduate its called NEET UG and for postgraduate its called NEET PG.

What is NEET UG?

The National Eligibility cum Entrance Test for Undergraduate Medical / Dental courses like MBBS/BDS admissions across the country. In order to be eligible for admission to MBBS/BDS Courses for a particular academic year, it shall be necessary for a candidate to obtain minimum marks in ‘National Eligibility-cum-Entrance Test’ held for the said academic year besides obtaining minimum prescribed marks at the qualifying examination.

All admissions to MBBS/BDS courses within the respective categories shall be based solely on marks obtained in the National Eligibility-cum-Entrance Test.

What is NEET PG?

The National Eligibility cum Entrance Test for Postgraduate Medical / Dental courses like MD/MDS/MS and PG Diploma across the country.

NEET-PG is the eligibility-cum-ranking examination prescribed as the single entrance examination to various MD/MS and PG Diploma Courses under ambit of Post Graduate Medical Regulations as notified by Medical Council of India (MCI) with approval of the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare.

Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India has notified National Board of Examinations for conducting the National Eligibility-cum-Entrance Test for Post Graduate courses.