Published On : Fri, Dec 12th, 2014

Vidarbha is goldmine of journalists: Governor

Governer Vidyasagar Rao

Maharashtra Governor C Vidyasagar Raon on Friday termed Vidarbha as goldmine of journalists. “The region has produced eminent journalists. Many are holding important positions in various media organizations all over the country,” said the Governor. He was speaking at the presentation of the late C K Marpakwar awards for the years 2011, 2012 and 2013 at Convocation Hall, RTMNU, Nagpur.

Three journalists namely Gajanan Janbhor, Assistant Editor, Lokmat, Kartik Lokhande, Chief Reporter, The Hitavada and Nitin Totewar, Special Correspondent, Maharashtra Times, were chosen for the awards by an independent panel based on their consistent work for the development of the region.

“Vidarbha is a goldmine of journalists. There are many journalists from Vidarbha who are holding important positions in various media organizations all over the country. Prafulla Marpakwar is one such journalist. Vidarbha should feel proud of. For the last three decades, he has consistently given insightful stories, day after day, and year after year, often holding public authorities to account,” said the Governor.

At the outset Governor C Vidyasagar Rao thanked Prafulla Marpakwar, Nagpur Union of Working Journalists and the Tilak Patrakar Bhavan Trust for associating him with the presentation of the awards instituted in memory of the late C K alias Annasaheb Marpakwar.

He said that the late Annasaheb Marpakwar was a socially committed person and freedom fighter who was way ahead of times in terms of progressive thinking and outlook. He had a genuine concern for the welfare of the backward classes and had started schools for Dalit girls and boys. By instituting the awards for journalism in his memory, the Marpakwar family and other organizations have perpetuated the memory of late Marpakwar in an appropriate manner, state the Governor.

“I understand that all the three journalists have written extensively on the socio-economic problems of the region, problems of farmers, problems of regional imbalance, the issue of backlog, Naxalism and other issues of direct relevance to the people and to the region at large. I congratulate the three awardees for setting standards for fellow journalists and I do hope that they will continue their good work in future also,” said Rao.

“I took charge as Governor of Maharashtra a few days before Assembly elections in Maharashtra. This enabled me to watch the coverage of the elections by the media in Maharashtra. I wish to compliment the media for its excellent coverage of the elections, and importantly, for encouraging young voters to cast their votes. The media has thus played an important role in strengthening our democracy,” said Governor.

“As Chancellor of Universities in Maharashtra, I do feel that our universities and institutions offering journalism courses must identify and nurture students who have potential to become good journalists. Youths from rural areas have better understanding of the problems of governance, and hence I do feel that we have to encourage and enable more youths from rural areas to become journalists,” stressed the Governor.

Rao further said that he is  glad that veteran journalist from PTI Joseph Rao is also being honoured for his long and distinguished services to journalism.

Others who were present on the occasion include V S Deshpande, Acting Vice Chancellor of Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University, Prafulla Marpakwar, Senior journalist, the President and office bearers of the Nagpur Union of Working Journalists,  trustees of the Tilak Patrakar Bhavan Trust, members of the awards selection committee, members of the Marpakwar family, distinguished recipients of the award, editors, and eminent journalists.