Published On : Fri, Jan 22nd, 2016

Two farmers formally return ‘Krishibhushan’ and ‘Shetinishta’ Puraskars to State Govt

Award Return by farmersNagpur: Moreshwar Zade and Hemant Shendre, the two farmers from Chandrapur District who had announced to return agriculture awards bestowed by State Government, on Friday formally returned their ‘Krishibhushan’ and ‘Shetinishta’ Puraskars through Divisional Commissioner here. Zade and Shendre reached the Office of Divisional Commissioner and returned the awards and also submitted a memorandum.

On behalf of the State Government, the Additional Divisional Commissioner Hemant Pawar, Deputy Commissioner Pradeep Dange and Divisional Agriculture Officer Vijaykumar Ghavte accepted the awards and the memorandum. A large number of Shtekari Sanghatana leaders and workers were present on the occasion.

Both Hemant Shendre and Moreshwar Zade were awarded with Shetinishta and Krishibhushan Puraskars by the State Government. The two farmers had announced that they will return the awards to the State Government saying the Government failed to curb suicides by farmers. Many of the decisions are anti-farmers. The decisions are affecting the farmers badly, said the farmers adding the condition of farmers has turned worse. “Nobody wants to do farming. The situation in Vidarbha is alarming,” stated the farmers.