Published On : Fri, Sep 20th, 2013
College Round-up | By Nagpur Today Nagpur News

Teachers Day and Engineers Day at GHRCE

DSC_3245 (2)

Nagpur News: Teachers Day and Engineers Day was celebrated at GHRCE on 19th September 2013. The Chief Guest of the function was Hon. Dr. Anil Sahasrabuddhe, Director, College of Engineering Pune, Guest of honor was Ms. Shobha Ghosh, Senior Director, FICCI , New Delhi, Hon. Shri Sunilji Raisoni , Chairman of Raisoni Group of Institutions presided over the function.

Dr. Preeti Bajaj, Director GHRCE gave the welcome address and declared the recipients of the Best Teacher Award as Dr. Rashmi .R. Shrivastav, Prof. Sonali. U. Nimbhorkar and Prof. Kapil .K. Jajulwar.

A special recognition award was given to Prof. A. Thomas for her contribution in design and implementation of green technology at GHRCE. Dean R&D Dr. S. B. Jaju briefed the gathering about the various R&D activities being conducted at GHRCE, which included 6 RPS projects, 3 MODROB, 3 EDC grants and 5 projects under IEDC totaling the grant to the tune of 1 crore.

The Institute has filed 25 patents and the faculties have contributed in refereed journals and have organized 10 national conferences and one international conference in one year. All these R&D initiatives were appreciated by the management and faculties and students involved were honored with the incentives that amounted to 15.8 lakhs. More than 140 beneficiaries were awarded the incentives for the various R&D activities during the function. Two faculties Dr. P.Y. Pawade , HOD Civil Department and Dr. O.K. Choudhari of Applied Mathematics were felicitated. Two research scholars who have completed their PHD from GHRCE Dr. Manoj Chandak from Computer Science and Engineering Department and Dr. Prashant Sharma from Electronics Department were also felicitated by the guests.

The Chief Guest Dr. Sahasrabuddhe appreciated the initiatives of the Institute in recognizing the efforts of the teaching and non teaching staff. He briefly discussed the issues faced by the faculties in teaching the present generation. He congratulated the institute for organizing such functions. Prof. H. S. Dalvi , Assistant Dean, Cultural Activities proposed the vote of thanks. The program was anchored by Mr.Suryateja and Ms. Syba students of final year.