Published On : Wed, Aug 5th, 2015

State Under-15 Chess Tournament: Dhanashree gets sole lead

chessNagpur: With just one round to go in Laxmikant Itkelwar Memorial Maharashtra State Under-15 Chess Tournament, the competition to clinch the top position has intensified among the players. In girls’ category, Dhanashree Rathi is currently ruling the chart while in Boys category, three players are jointly leading the chart.

Dhanashree Rathi took a vital half point to take sole lead with 6.5 points after the eighth round of the of the tournament organised by Nagpur District Chess Association (NDCA) at Naivedyam Hall on Tuesday.

Dhanshree needed only half a point to take sole lead to claim the first place in girls category. She played smartly on top board and signed peace treaty with Sonal Mandhana to earn the much-needed point.

Sonal is just 0.5 points behind, Dhanshsree. Apart from Sonal, Dhanashree is being closely followed by Tanya Pande and Aditi Patel, who too have six points in the purse after the penultimate round.

In boys, Fide master Anand Nadar, Nishit Singh and Devansh Ratti are sharing joint lead with seven points apiece after the eighth round. Nadar drew with Sankalp Gupta on top board while Singh defeated Roneet Das on the second board. Ratti got the better of Kedar Morvekar.

The concluding function of the tournament will be held at 2 pm on Wednesday.

Round 8: Boys: FM Anand Nadar (7) drew with Sankalp Gupta (6.5), Roneet Das (6) lost to Nishit Singh (7), Kedar Morvekar (6) lost to Devansh Ratti (7), Rahul Pawar (6.5) bt Priyanshu Patil (5), Swayam Aalewad (5) lost to Om Vitalkar 1803 (6), Yash Dhoke (5) lost to Salil Deogade (6), Sanil Upasani (5) lost to Yash Ingolikar (6), Vaibhav Raut 1564 (6) bt Atharva Bhede (5), Sai Shravan (5) lost to Arnav Kherdekar (6), Vinit Dhoot (5.5) drew with Kshitij Joshi (5.5)

Girls: Sonal Mandhana (6) drew with Dhanashree Rathi (6.5), Eesha Sarda (6) bt Srishti Pandey (5.5), Anannya Menkudle (5) lost to Tanya Pandey (6), Aditi Patel (6) bt Adane Narayani (5), Khushi Surana (5.5) bt Dnynadha Vitalkar (4.5), Shalaka Pagay (5) drew with Anushka Kohle (5), Riddhi Palorkar (5) bt Aditi G Patil (4.5), Khushi Choudki (4.5) drew with Isha Inamdar (4.5), Disha Dhore (5) bt Sharanya Adane (4), Purti Aurangabadkar (3.5) lost to Krishna Maheshwari (5). Sonal Mandhana (L) and Dhanashree Rathi ponder over their moves during Itkelwar Memorial State Under-15 Chess Tournament at Naivedyam Hall on Monday. Budding players think about their moves in U-15 chess tournament.