Published On : Fri, Feb 20th, 2015

Shiv Sena appoints Dr Sawant as Sampark Pramukh for Nagpur City, Ramtek again

Dr. Deepak Sawant

Shiv Sena has reposed faith in Minister of State for Health Dr Deepak Sawant and has appointed him as Sampark Pramukh for Nagpur City and Ramtek Lok Sabha constituency again. Dr Sawant’s name figured in the list of Sampark Pramukhs announced by the party for all districts and cities of Maharashtra.

During Dr Sawant’s tenure the Shiv Sena fought the last Assembly elections but lost all the 12 seats in Nagpur district. Dr Sawant abysmally failed to carve victory for Adv Ashish Jaiswal for the fourt consecutive term from Ramtek seat. Jaiwas had emerged victorious from the seat in the last 3 elections. According to sources, the previous tenure of Dr Sawant saw Shiv Sena drifting to nadir and splitting. The wrestling between the two top party leaders Adv Ashish Jaiswal and former MP Prakash Jadhav is going on for years. As a result, influence of the party in Ramtek Lok Sabha constituency has waned enormously. Moreover, the day Satish Harde, who has an inclination towards Congress thinking, was given command by the close aides of Shiv Sena chief the party has not been able to stand up in city. Harde’s working style forced diehard Shivsainiks drift away from the party. Harde, as City Chief, has totally failed to display the Shiv Sena style of agitating on vital issues. Even the executive committee for city has not been announced till date. All these circumstances forced the Shivsainiks break away from the party and join other parties.

Meanwhile, on the directives of Uddhav Thackeray, Pratprao Jadhav, MP, has been appointed Sampark Pramukh for Buldana District while, Ashok Shinde, Baban Thorat, Kishore Kanhere have been appointed Sampark Pramukhs of Akola-Amravati, Washim-Yavatmal, Bhandara-Gondia districts respectively. Dr Sawant is also the Sampark Pramukh of Chandrapur-Wardha district.