Published On : Sun, May 10th, 2015

Scrap contract with SNDL, Fact-finding panel gets 1,00,700 plaints

Complaints to be accepted till May 15

d229557-largeNagpur: The power distribution franchise SNDL is not required as it is looting citizens. Its contract should be scrapped and the power distribution work should be again handed over to Maharashtra State Electricity Distribution Company Limited (MSEDCL). This is the demand from various organisations, political parties, citizens and public representatives and they are unanimously demanding cancellation of the franchise’s contract. They even lodged written complaints with the fact-finding committee. The committee has so far received 1,00,700 complaints.Out of the total complaints received, maximum complaints are about the power theft followed by complaints of installation of faulty meters, unreasonable bills and misbehavior of SNDL officials.

Taking cognizance of the increasing complaints about the SNDL, a two-member fact-finding committee comprising R B Goenka and Gauri Chandriyan has been formed. The office of the committee is situated at Cottage no. 20, Ravi Bhavan where complaints are received.

On Saturday afternoon, mayor Pravin Datke, ruling party leader in NMC Dayashankar Tiwari, MLA from central Nagpur Vikas Kumbhare met the committee and made them aware of the complaints of citizens.

Datke stressed on the complaint about the behaviour of the SNDL staff. He stated, “the citizens are tortured by the franchise’s staffers.” Tiwari also said that, “SNDL does not address the complaints and they don’t even listen to them. They do not have skilled technicians. The franchise does not have a system to explain, how many units consumed and quantum of bill recovered.” MLA Khopde also raised similar complaints.

South Nagpur MLA Sudhkar Kohale also met the committee and interacted with its members. He demanded transfer of Mahal division operation from SNDL to MSEDCL. And, apprised the committee of the increased in bills after SNDL took over.

During the meet Kailash Chute, Ramesh Singare, Dr. Ravindra Bhoyar, Neeta Thakre, Swati Aakatkar, Reeta Mule, Divya Ghurde, Vijay Aasole, Sanjay Thakre, Anil Lambade, Parshu Thakur and others were prominently present

Complaints to be accepted till May 15

While talking to media, Gauri Chandriyan said, “the fact-finding committee began accepting the complaints from May 2. It has received 9,623 complaints till now. Everyday at least 150-200 people lodge complaints. Public representatives and social organizations are lodging complaint in unison. The last date of receiving complaint is May 15.

” Mayor Pravin Datke, ruling party leader in NMC Dayashankar Tiwari, MLA from central Nagpur Vikas Kumbhare are seen interacting with the fact finding committee at Ravi Bhavan on Saturday. The members of delegation are also seen standing in the background.