Published On : Sun, Aug 2nd, 2015

RTMNU lifetime achievement award for Dr Vedprakash Mishra

Nagpur: The Nagpur University will confer Jeevan Sadhna Puraskar (Lifetime achievement award) on senior academician Dr Vedprakash Mishra during its 92nd foundation day celebrations on Tuesday. The function will be conducted at NU’s Guru Nanak auditorium on its campus where former Planning Commission member Bhalchandra Mungekar will be the chief guest. NU vice-chancellor Siddharthvinayaka Kane, pro-VC Pramod Yeole and registrar Puran Meshram will be present.

Renowned astrophysicist Jayant Narlikar has agreed to attend NU’s 102nd convocation to be held on August 29 as chief guest. NU will also hold a meeting of stakeholders on August 6 for discussing a draft proposal for new Universities Act after instructions is received from the government.

Addressing the media, Kane said from this year, they will award only one Jeevan Sadhna Puraskar, unlike the practice of last few years in which NU used to honour four leading alumni for significant contribution to the society.

“Our panel under former Amravati University VC Kamal Singh finalized Dr Mishra’s name among three names. We also discontinued the practice of felicitating ‘best teachers’ as NU honours them on Teachers Day on September 25. This time, we’ve instituted a new award of ‘ideal college’. This year it went to Wardha-based Shiksha Mandal’s college,” the VC said.