Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

    Nagpur City No 1 eNewspaper : Nagpur Today

    | | Contact: 8407908145 |
    Published On : Sun, Apr 21st, 2019

    SJAN Media Badminton: Rakhi, Meenal to clash in final

    Jain, Nayse, Bora, Manke in semis

    Nagpur: Defending champion Rakhi Chavan of Loksatta will take on Lokmat’s Meenal Jain in the women’s singles final in Gaikwad-Patil International School-SJAN Media Badminton being played at the Subhedar Hall in the city.

    The tournament has been organised by Sports Journalists’ Association of Nagpur (SJAN) in association with Department of Sports and Physical Education of RTM Nagpur University.

    In the first semi-final, Rakhi quelled the challenge of new-entrant Kajal Chopde 15-13, 15-5 whereas Meenal faced no difficulty in eliminating Priti Valunjkar 15-5, 15-7.

    In the men’s singles event, defending champion Ashish Jain, runners-up Suhas Nayse, Fakhruddin Bora and Ameya Manke entered the semis. Jain, Nayse and Manke also entered the men’s doubles and mixed doubles semis.

    The semi-finals and finals will be played on Monday from 9 am onwards followed by prize distribution ceremony.


    Women singles semis: Rakhi Chavan (Loksatta) bt Kajal Chopde (Navbharat) 15-13, 15-5; Meenal Jain (Lokmat) bt Priti Valunjkar (Navbharat) 15-5, 15-7.

    Men’s singles QF: Ashish Jain (Lokmat) bt Manish Sakharwade (TOI) 15-6, 15-3; Suhas Nayse (TOI) bt Raviraj Ambadwar (Lokmat) 15-6, 15-11; Fakhruddin Bora (TOI) bt Farhan Qazi (Nagpur Today) 15-7, 15-7; Ameya Manke (Navbharat) bt SS Ahmad (Navbharat) 15-10, 15-13.

    Men’s doubles QF: Ashish Jain-Pravin Lathane (Lokmat) bt Gaurav Pareek-Saurav Pal (TOI) 15-9, 15-3; SS Ahmad-Farhan Qazi bt Manish Sakharwade-Sunil Warrier (TOI) 15-9, 11-15, 15-10; Mahesh Sarangi-Ameya Manke (Navbharat) bt Raviraj Ambedwar-Morris Raynold (Lokmat) 15-5, 15-9; Suhas Nayse-Fakhruddin Bora (TOI) bt Shailesh Pudke- Vivek Bendarkar (TOI) 15-4, 15-6.

    Mixed doubles QF: Ashish Jain-Meenal Jain (LokmaT) bt Sandeep Wardhane-Sonali Jichkar (TOI) 15-5; Ameya Manke-Kajal Chopde (Navbharat) bt Fakhruddin Bora-Chaitali Deshmukh (TOI) 15-4; Raviraj Ambadwar-Sangita Ambadwar bt Mahesh Sarangi-Trupti Deo (Navbharat) 15-11; Suhas Nayse -Deblina Dasgupta (TOI) bt Dharmendra Kumar-Priti Atulkar (TOI) 15-6.

    Stay Updated : Download Our App
    Mo. 8407908145