Nominations of 208 candidates rejected, 1574 in the ring for NMC poll

The scrutiny of nomination papers has turned the poll scenario clear. Of a total 1809 candidates who had submitted nomination forms from various Prabhags, as many as 208 faced rejection of nomination papers after scrutiny by the administration. This has left 1574 candidates in the fray for 151 seats in 38 Prabhags in Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC) election.

Following is the picture of nominations, invalid papers and the number of candidates in the fray.
Rejected Candidates
The administration is not able to provided names of all the invalid candidates in all the zones. 27 candidates filed more than one nomination. BSP’s Sagar Lokhande and Mukesh Meshram had approached court but their petition was dismissed. Similarly, hearing on the petitions of Mangala Kadu, Nalini Karangale and Deepak Muley is slated to be held on February 7.

The date of withdrawal of nominations is February 7. On February 8, the independent candidates will be distributed with poll symbols. There are 48 authorized symbols with NMC.

All the major parties and smaller groups are sweating it hard to convince rebellious candidates to withdraw from the contest in favour of official nominees. The Agrawal community has gone unrepresented as none of the parties has fielded any candidate from the community. Congress has given candidature to two nominees each from Prabhag 15 but the faulty distribution of AB forms played spoilsport for Adv Pradeep Agrawal as his candidature got cancelled. The red-faced Agrawal lodged a complaint with Ambazari Police Station. He may probably knock the doors of court.