Published On : Fri, Jan 6th, 2017

No neta can do bhoomipuja in Nagpur as EC enforces poll code


Nagpur: As the five legislative council in the state will witness the elections on February 8, the Election Commission of India has enforced election code of conduct in Nagpur. Five legislative council constituencies — Aurangabad teachers, Nagpur teachers, Konkan teachers, Amravati graduates and Nasik graduates are included in the poll list.

Divisional commissioner Anup Kumar, who is returning officer for Nagpur division teachers’ constituency, said that no ministers including the CM, could perform bhoomipuja or do inauguration of public projects. “They are not supposed to hold meetings of government officers, who are involved in the election process. This means revenue department meetings can’t be held anymore till elections are over. I would, however, advise the ministers not to hold any government meetings at all. However, they can tour the state for official work and not club election work with it,” he told the media.

Kumar further said that counting would be held on February 6. “The election notification will be issued on January 10. The last date of filing nominations in January 17. Scrutiny of nominations will be done on January 18 and last date of withdrawing nominations is January 20,” he added.

There are 34,802 voters for the Nagpur teachers’ constituency of which maximum 14,821 voters are in Nagpur district. There are total 124 polling centre of which 43 are in the district.