NMC Polls : 1809 candidates file nominations

candidates file nominations, NMC poll, Nagpur NewsNagpur: As many as 1533 candidates filed their nominations on the last day of nomination for NMC polls, scheduled for February 21. With this the total contestants have reached to 1809 for the 151 seats in the NMC.

Gandhibagh Zone (197) received the maximum number of nomination forms. Satranjipura (187) was second and Lakadganj (179) third.

While the Congress is contesting all 151 seats, the BJP is doing so only in 150 after one of their candidates did not file his papers after being asked contest from a ward he did not to. The Shiv Sena is contesting 120 seats.

Bahujan Samajwadi Party has given B forms to around 109 candidates. “It is for the first time that Mayawati’s party has fielded so many candidates for the civic elections,” said BSP’s state general secretary Jitendra Mahiskar.

Nationalist Congress Party too claimed to have distributed 145 B forms.

However, the actual number of contestants in the fray will be revealed only when the scrutiny will be completed on February 4.

Additional municipal commissioner Ravindra Kumbhare said that nomination procedure has come to end peacefully and they received papers from all candidates. He said candidates can roll back their names by February 7 till 3pm after that final list of candidates will come out and independent candidates will get the election symbols. Distribution of symbols will be held from 11am on February 8.