Published On : Sun, Mar 5th, 2017

Nanda Jichkar takes charge as Nagpur Mayor

In elections held at the Town Hall in Mahal this Sunday morning, Nanda Jichkar was elected Mayor of Nagpur by a thumping margin of 82 votes. She polled 108 votes in total as against Congress candidate Sneha Nikose who got 26 votes and BSP candidate Vandana Chandekar who polled only 10.
District Collector Sachin Kurve presided over the meeting.
If the recent NMC elections were charged with in fighting among parties and allegations and counter allegations of anti party activities flying high, even the meeting today had its share of drama, specially in opposition ranks.
Congress Corporator Gargi Chopda, wife of former, very popular Corporator Dr. Pradeep Chopda has already resigned as Corporator and was therefore not present. 
NCP Corporator Duneshwar Pethe, Sena Kishor Kumariya and Independent Abha Pande remained neutral and did not vote.
At the same meeting Deepraj Pardikar of BJP was elected Deputy Mayor.
After Nanda Jichkar took charge as Mayor she presided over the rest of the meeting at which Standing Committee formation was announced.
It will consist of 12 members from BJP, 3 from Congress and one from BSP. Congress leader of the House Sanjay Mahakalkar has kept the Congress quota unfilled right now.