Published On : Wed, Jul 6th, 2016

Nagpur finish runners-up in sub jr Sepak takraw tourney

nagpur sportsNagpur district sub junior Sepak takraw boys and girls bagged second position in the recently held 19th Maharashtra state sub junior Sepak takraw championship. The tournament was organised at Nanded.

In all 20 teams in boys section and 16 teams in girls section took part in the state Championship.

The secretary of Nagpur District Sepak takraw Association Dr YV Pandey said Nagpur’s both boys and girls teams were in superb form throughout the tournament and reached the finals by winning all their matches comprehensively. However, in finals both the teams lost to Nanded.

District boys team stormed into the quarterfinals by defeating Jalna 2- 0 in straight sets (21-15, 21-17), Solapur 2-0 (21-16, 21-15), Wardha by 2-0 (21-18, 21-17) and Aurangabad 2-0 (21-15, 21-11).

In the quarterfinal Nagpur District boys team defeated Gondia by 2-0 (21-12,21-18) to enter the semifinal. In the semifinal Nagpur boys team defeated Nasik after a brief struggle 2-1 (13-21, 21-15, 21-17).
However, their winning streak ended in the finals. They suffered a nasty defeat at the hands of Nanded in the summit clash by 2-0 (21-16,21-18).

In girls section Nagpur reached quarterfinal by defeating Aurangabad by 2-0 (21-11,21-17), Latur by 2-0 (21-15,21-13) and Wardha by 2-0 (21-12,21-15).

In quarter-finals Nagpur district defeated Satara by 2-0 (21-11,21-13). In the semifinal Nagpur district girls team defeated Gondia by 2-0 (21-14,21-16).

In the final of girls team too lost to Nanded in the title clash by 2-0 (21-18, 21-15) and settled as runners-up.

Praful Gadge, president of Maharashtra Sepak takraw Association (MSTA), Dr YV Pandey, secretary of Nagpur District Sepak takraw Association, Dr. Sukdev Biswas, secretary MSTA, Dr. Ramesh Mandel, Dr. Amit Kanwar, Dr. Devendra Wankhede, Javed Rana and Jayant Jichkar have congratulated the players for their achievement.

Players & officials.
Boys team:- Himanshu Meshram (Capt), Rahul yadav, Siddharth Sahare, Mohammed Safwan, Mohammed Jawwad, Sameer Thool (coach), Rushabh Nandeshwar (Manager)

Girls team:- Sonal Dhadese (Capt), Awantika lokhande, Ojal Kursunge, Nikita Shende, Anuradha Yadav, Ajay Kanojia (Coach), Ritu Sharma (Manager).