Published On : Sat, Dec 22nd, 2012

Nagpur District Senior & Junior Teams win State Sepak Takraw Title

Nagpur District Sepak Takraw Senior Men and Women Teams bagged 1st  position  in the 1st Mini Olympic Games and Junior Boys Team also bagged 1st  position  in the 16th Junior Maharashtra State Sepak Takraw Championship for Boys & Girls, which were held at Pune from 14th to 16th  December 2012 organized by Pune District Sepak Takraw Association under the banner of Maharashtra Sepak Takraw Association as informed by Dr. Y. V. Pandey Secretary NDSTA.

In all eight teams each in Men section and Women section and in the Junior Championship twenty teams each in Boys & Girls section took part in this Championship. Making a winning start in the Championship, Nagpur District Senior Men Team entered Semi final round by defeating Gondia 15-09 & 15-10, Thane 15-06 & 15-06, 15-06 & 15-06, Pune 15-10 & 15-04 and Mumbai Subarban 15-06 & 15-06. In the Women Section, they entered Semi– final round by defeating Wardha 15-09 & 15-10,  Mumbai City 15-12 & 15-08 and Nashik 15-12 & 15-08.

In the final match Nagpur Men team defeated Gondia by 2-1sets 15-13 15-17 & 15-12  and Nagpur Women team won against Wardha in straight sets 15- 08 & 15-11. Samiruddin Sheikh of Nagpur adjusted as best players in the Men section and Sneha Shendre in the Women section.

In the quarter-final round, Nagpur Junior Boys Team defeated Bhandara in straight sets 15- 13 & 15-10 and in the semi-final they defeated Pune 15-12, 15-17 & 15-13 marched into the Final round in style. In the final match Nagpur Boys team defeated Wardha by 2-1sets  15-17, 15- 08 & 15-11. Irshad Sagar of Nagpur adjusted as best players in the Boys section.

The successful players have been congratulated by  Prafull Gardge Dr. R.S. Dagar, Salim Baig, Dr. R. C. Kanwar, Dr. Sukdev Biswas, Dr. Y.V. Pnadey, Dr.Lalit Jiwani, Ramesh Mandal  and others.

Men Team:- Samiruddin Sheikh (Captain), Pamir Sahare , Kunal Lonare, Roshan Singh and Tarence Mane, Deepak Diwedi (Coach) and Dr. Sukdev Biswas (Manager).

Women Team:-  Sarita Patel (Captain), Sneha Shendre, Megha Badhe, Shikha Gupta and Krishna Gupta, Ramesh Mandal (Coach) and Dr. Y.V.Pandey (Manager).

Boys Team:-  Irshad Sagar (Cap.), Sameer Thool, Shahid Hasan, Sheikh Sameer and Mohd Sohail, Javed Rana (Coach) and Akash Meshram (Manager).