Published On : Tue, May 6th, 2014

Nagpur District Football Association (NDFA) league to kick off in June

Nagpur News: The Nagpur District Football Association (NDFA) league for 2014-15 is all set to kick off from June 8. In lieu with the increasing popularity of football in the Orange City, a total of five divisions have been declared to be a part of the next local football season.

In another development, the transfers window and dates for induction of new players into the league have also been declared. The new format of the league will witness five break-ups, namingly Elite Division, Super Division, Senior Division, First Division and Junior Division in decreasing order of precedence. The Elite Division will comprise of 10 top-flight teams set to fight it out for the top-most honour in the city, as decided in a recently held league committee meeting. Nagpur Football Club, Young Iqbal, Rabbani Club, Young Muslim, Rahul Sankritayan Club, Nagpur Academy , Divisional Sports Association Central Railway, South Eastern Central Railway, Nagpur City Police and Nagpur Range Police have been inducted as first-class teams into the most prestigious of all groups. Meanwhile Nagpur Blues, New Globe, Anjuman Sports Club, Big Ben, Rahul Brothers, Qidwai Football Club, XI Star, Ansar Sporting, Shakti Sporting and Eagle Sporting are the 10 teams that will lock horns in the second-tier league called the Super Division. Below the top two set of teams lies the Senior Division which will feature as many as 12 teams. Taj Sporting, Al-Aziz Sports Club, Nagpur City Club, Central Railway Institute, Young Iqbal “B”, IFFC, Orange City, Gondwana, Hansraj Sporting, SRPF Hingna, Iqbal Club and Nagpur Star will take the field out to prove their mettle in this division.

The under-21 teams will formulate the first division while the under-19 lads will be a part of the Junior Division of NDFA’s plans for the next season. Sports veterans Iqbal Kashmiri, Eugyn Norbert and Abdul Bari will be conveners for the top three leagues respectively. Also taking charge for the First Division will be Mohd Javed Rana and Mohd Mubeen for the Junior Division. Stanley Gregory will convene proceedings for the College League and Atmaram Pande has been assigned similar duties for the School Division. As far as the eves are concerned, Moril D”melo and Shalini Ragde have been assigned responsibilities for the Women’s League.

The pre-season transfer period has started on Monday and will continue till May 10. Whereas the forms for registrations of new players will be distributed on May 12, the last date of submission being May 30. Moreover, the NDFA Executive Committee has also announced sub-committees to ensure the smooth running of the events in the season calendar. League Committee: Salim Baig (Chairman), Eugyn Norbert, Iqbal Kashmiri, Atama Ram Pande and Opendra Verma (Members). Player Status Committee: Iqbal Kashmiri (Chairman), Bernard D”souza and Eugyn Norbert (Members). Referee Board: Stanley Gregory (Chairman), Rajesh Nagrurkar, Kaleem Ahmad, Bernard D”souza and Sunder Raj Francis (Members).