Published On : Fri, Jul 31st, 2015

Nagpur among 10 cities to become ‘Smart City’

What-Technology-Do-Smart-Cities-Use-Smart-City-Technology_3Mumbai/Nagpur: The Maharashtra government has selected Mumbai, Nagpur and Aurangabad among 10 other cities in the state under the ‘Smart City’ project, Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis said today.

Briefing about the selection, Fadnavis said in the Legislative Assembly that a high-level committee under chairmanship of Chief Secretary was set up and Navi Mumbai, Mumbai, Pune-Pimpri Chinchwad, Amravati, Solapur, Nagpur, Kalyan Dombivali, Aurangabad, Nashik and Thane have been selected.

These cities will be developed into smart cities under the NDA government’s flagship urban projects while many other Indian cities have been selected under mega Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) plan.

The government has proposed to spend around Rs 1 lakh crore on the two schemes over the next five years. While Rs 48,000 crore has been earmarked for 100 smart cities, Rs 50,000 crore are marked for the AMRUT scheme for 500 cities.