Published On : Thu, Jan 16th, 2014

Mayor’s Trophy All India Kho-Kho Tournament gets off to start in city with the sporting spirit

Nagpur News: The Mayor’s Trophy All India Kho-Kho Championship got underway on Wednesday. The Championship has been organized by the Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC), as part of its 150th Year Celebrations.

The Mahapor Chashak All India Kho-Kho Championship (Men/Women) will be held from January 15 to 19. The Tournament was inaugurated at 4 pm by the Mayor Anil Sole and Arjun Award winner sportsman S Prakash (Bengaluru) by formally unveiling the NMC Sports Flag and Games Torch. The competition is being held at Samarth Stadium (Chitnis Park), Mahal in Nagpur.

Mahapor Chashak news photos (2)

All the Kho-Kho players saluted the dignitaries while students of Prahar High School beat the drums in an attractive Band rhythm. Gurukul students drew the attention of audience by the traditional Lazim parade. S Prakash declared the Tournament open by releasing balloons in the air.

The Mayor Anil Sole, before the inauguration of the All India Kho-Kho Championship, performed “puja” at Rajabaxa Hanuman Temple and lighted the Games Torch and handed it to NMC’s Priyadarshini Higher Secondary School National-level players. The Torch was taken through Medical Square, Untkhana, Ashok Square, New Shukrawari, Mahal, Abhyankar Statue, Gandhi Gate, Shivaji Statue to Samarth Stadium (Chitnis Park).

Those who graced the function include Standing Committee Chairman Avinash Thakre, Ruling Party Leader in NMC Pravin Datke, NMC Commissioner Shyam Wardhane, Health Committee Chairman Ramesh Singare, Laxmi Nagar Zone Chairman Gopal Bohre, Senior Corporator Dayashankar Tiwari, Education Committee Chairperson Chetana Tank, Transport Committee Chairman Bandu Raut, Gandhibagh Zone Chairperson Rashmi Fadnavis, NEERI Director Satish Wate, and others.