Kumbhare puts poll staff on notice for skipping training

Ravindra Kumbhare
The Additional Municipal Commissioner Ravindra Kumbhare on Sunday reviewed preparations for February 21 Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC) election and put truant poll staff on notice for skipping training programme. Kumbhare took stock of various aspects of the poll including planning of polling centres, arrangement of transport of election staff and necessary material to polling stations etc.

Kumbhare directed the election staff to ensure facility of toilets and wheel-chairs for physically disabled persons at every polling centre so that handicapped and senior citizens are not put to any difficulty in casting their votes.

The Additional Commissioner said that the first training programme for poll staff was held at five centres including Vasantrao Deshpande Hall, Dhanvate National College, Tidke Vidyalaya, Katol Road, Saraswati Vidyalaya, Shankar Nagar, and Dr Ambedkar Reasearch Institute, Deekshabhoomi on February 9, 10, and 11. Those polling officers/employees skipped the training programme have been issued show cause notices and have also been warned of stern action if they bunk the second training programme.

The review meeting was attended by Returning Officers Sujata Gandhe, Dr Dipti Suryavanshi, Sudhakar Kulmethe, Manisha Jaybhaye, Assistant Commissioner Mahesh Dhamecha, and all Assistant Returning Officers of all zones and staff.
Counting of votes will be taken up at different centres in all 12 zonal offices on February 23. The zone-wise counting centres and respective prabhags are as follows:

· Laxmi Nagar Zone — Vivekanand Sabhagruha, Vivekanand Nagar (for Prabhags 36,37,38)

· Dharampeth Zone – – Providence School, Civil Lines (Prabhags13,14,15)

· Hanuman Nagar Zone — Ishwar Deshmukh Hall (Prabhags 31, 32,33)

· Dhantoli Zone — Bachat Bhavan, opposite Hotel Hardeo, Sitabuldi (Prabhags 16, 17, 35)

· Gandhibagh Zone — Mahatma Phule Sabhagruha, Reshimbagh Square (Prabhags 8, 18, 19, 20)

· Satranjipura Zone — New Building, Dahi Bazaar (Prabhags 4, 5, 21)

· Lakadganj Zone — Vinayakrao Deshmukh Vidyalaya, near Anath Vidyarthi Vasatigruha (Prabhags22,23,24, 25)

· Ashi Nagar Zone — Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar Hall, Lalit Kala Bhavan, Thaware Colony (Prabhags 2, 3, 6)

· Mangalwari Zone — Tidke College, Rajnagar, Katol Road (Prabhags 1, 7, 9)

· RBGG Sadar Zone — ZP Government Secondary School, Katol Road (Prabhags 10, 11, 12)

· Durga NagarZone — Citizen Education Society, New Horizon Public School and Junior College, Manewada Road (Prabhags 29, 30, 34).

– RAJEEV RANJAN KUSHWAHA(rajeev.nagpurtoday@gmail.com)