Published On : Mon, Mar 26th, 2018

Kasturchand Park to have jogging, walking and cycle track soon

Nagpur: Taking a step forward towards turning Nagpur a Smart City, ground-breaking (bhoomipujan) ceremony of jogging, walking and cycle track was performed at historic Kasturchand Park at the hands of Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and Union Minister for Road Transport, Shipping Nitin Gadkari on Sunday.

Guardian Minister Chandrashekhar Bawankule, Mayor Nanda Jichkar, Satyanarayan Nuwal, Chairman of Solar Industries India Limited and other prominent personalities were present on the occasion.

Maharashtra Government is providing funds for the overall development of Kasturchand Park while Solar Industries is also contributing under its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) funds for the development of Jogging Track. Noted architect Ashok Mokha, Prof. Ujjwala Chakradeo and P S Patankar prepared the design of the jogging track. The Heritage Committee has suggested flag post, plaza and surround walk way for Heritage structure, compound wall repairs, new gates and modification of existing gates, tree plantation on periphery of both sides of the track, shrubs and low height plants between track and compound wall, track lights, and illumination for structure, toilets, rain water harvesting, storm water drain, signages, projection screen on Metro Wall by Nagpur Metro, fountain, parking space, sitting benches, children’s play ground, Ashok Stambh, ‘I Love Nagpur’ Signage and other amenities. Architect Ashok Mokha explained in detail about the project.

Fadnavis, Gadkari, Bawankule and Nuwal alsoplanted saplings at ground to mark the beginning of beautification works. MLAs Sudhakar Deshmukh, Dr. Milind Mane, NMC Standing Committee Chairman Virendra Kukreja, Sandip Joshi, Ruling Party leader, Tanaji Vanve, Leader of Opposition, Sachin Kurve, District Collector, Ashwin Mudgal, NMC Commissioner, Dr. Deepak Mhaisekar, NIT Chairman, Sushma Choudhari, Roopa Rai, Zone Chairpersons, Sanjay Bangale, Dharampal Meshram, Sandip Jadhav, Sunil Agrawal, Kishor Jichkar, Sneha Nikose, Mamta Sahare, Manoj Talewar, City Engineer and Manish Nuwal, Managing Director of Solar Industries India Limited and J F Salve, Vice President of Solar Industries were present.