Published On : Wed, Jan 9th, 2013

IAF and Ruby Sporting Club win today, enter Finals!


Nagpur Today : Match Reports of two Semifinals played today:-

1. Indian Air Force Vs Navniketan Cricket Club at Maintenance Command Cricket Ground (Vayu Sena Nagar).

2. Ruby Cricket Club Club Vs Reshimbagh Gymkhana at Ambajhari Cricket Ground.

Report of 1st Semifinal Match-

Indian Air Force Vs Navniketan Cricket Club

Indian Air Force team won the toss and elected to field first. The match was reduced to 39-39 overs due to late start owing to wet pitch. Amogh Dani and Sajid khan gave a good start to Navniketan. They added 55 runs for 1st wicket partnership in just 6.5 overs. Amogh Dani was top scorer for his team with 30 runs in 31 balls (4×2, 6×1). Sajid Khan made 28 runs in just 24 balls (4×4, 6×1). But the IAF bowlers came back quickly after fall of 1st wicket. Navniketan Cricket Club could not get any good partnership further and their wickets fell at regular intervals. Chandan Singh (23 runs) and Viraj Kadbe (28 runs) showed some resistance and added valuable 40 runs for 6th wicket partnership. Navniketan was all out on 157 runs in 34 overs.
For IAF, Roshan Raj showed a very disciplined bowling. He took 4 wickets in 7 over for just 28 runs. DS Atri bagged 3 wickets for 40 runs in 7 overs. Left Arm Spinner Abhishek Sakuja took 1 wicket.

Azhar Khan and Varun Rajan opened the inning for IAF and gave a solid start. They added 53 runs for 1st wicket. Then after Arvind Solanki added 58 runs for the 2nd wicket with Varun Rajan. Varun Rajan played a splendid inning and made 57 runs in 72 balls with six boundaries. Azhar Khan and Arvind Solanki made 23 runs and 26 runs respectively. IAF achieved the target, in style with a six over mid wicket by Narender. in 33.5 overs with 6 wickets remaining.
For Navniketan, Aditya Sarwate showed a very impressive and disciplined bowling. He took 3 wickets in his quota of 8 overs on just 15 runs by keeping one over maiden.

Result: IAF won the match with 6 wickets and enter the final to be played at Vayu Sena Nagar on 11 Jan 13 (Friday)

Man of the Match: Varun Rajan of IAF for his impressive 57 runs.
Report of 2nd Semifinal Match-

Ruby Cricket Club Club Vs Reshimbagh Gymkhana

Reshimbagh Gymkhana won the toss and elected to field first. Put in to bat, Amit Paunikar and Aniruddha Chore open the inning for Ruby Sporting Club. Ruby Sporting Club lost their first three wickets at team score of 32 runs, 41 runs & 63 runs respectively. Thereafter, Aniruddha Chore and Gaurav Upadhyay added 78 runs in 96 balls for 4th wicket partenship. Aniruddha Chore scored 104 runs (6 fours) in 145 balls and Gaurav Upadhyay made 32 runs (3×4) in 43 balls respectively. Azhar Sheikh also made quick 37runs in 25 balls with five boundaries (4X5). Ruby Sporting Club put up the total of 227 runs on the score board in their quota of 50 overs.
For Reshim bagh Gymkhana, Swapnil Bandiwar and Ravi Jangid took three wickets each for 48 runs and 46 runs respectively in their 10 overs. Pawan Yadav, Kunjan Patel & Sumit Ruikar took one wicket each.

In Reply, Reshimbagh Gymkhana lost their first two wickets at team score 33 runs and 38 runs respectively. Anup Fulper made 73 runs in 77 balls with eight fours. Amit Deshpande and Ravi Jangid were only other two batsman, who could contribute 46 runs in 65 balls and 31 runs in 29 balls respectively. Rest of the batsman of Reshimbagh Gymkhana could not show resistance to the disciplined bowling of Ruby Sporting Club and lost their wickets cheaply. The whole team of Reshimbagh Gymkhana was bowled out on 194 runs in 46.1 overs.
For Ruby Sporting Club, Nitesh Choudhary, Gaurav Upadhyay and Azhar Sheikh took two wickets each for 51 runs in 9 overs, 26 runs in 10 overs &15 runs in 4.1overs respectively. Ashish Chauhan also took one wicket for 37 runs in his 8 overs.

Result: Ruby Sporting Club won by 33 runs and enter the final to be played at Vayu Sena Nagar on 11 Jan 13 (Friday)

Man of the Match: Aniruddha Chore of Ruby Sporting Club for his 104 runs

FINAL MATCH ON 11 Jan 13 (Friday): Final match will be played between Indian Air Force team and Ruby Sporting Club on 11 Jan 13 at Maintenance Command Cricket Ground, Vayu Sena Nagar.