Published On : Sat, Apr 16th, 2016

Fifth escapee in sensational 2015 jail-break nabbed in MP after a hot pursuit


The hot pursuit of fifth escapee in the sensational jail break here bore fruits as sleuths of Crime Branch nabbed him in his native town of neighbouring Madhya Pradesh. The fugitive Bisensingh Rammulal Uike was brought to the city and produced before media on Saturday.

It is pertinent to recall that on March 31, 2015, five prisoners namely Satyendra alias Rahul Rajbahadur Gupta (25), resident of Naka No. 2, Kamptee Road, Bisensingh Rammulal Uike (35) of Shioni District (MP), Mohd Sohel Khan alias Shibu Salim Khan (24) of New Mankapur, Prem alias Nepali Shalikram Khatri (21), native of Navalprashi, Ramgram Santpur, Nepal, and Akash alias Golu Rajjusingh Thakur (22) of Kutubshaha Nagar, Gittikhadan had escaped from Nagpur Central Jail by climbing the high security wall in the dead of night.

However, out of the five escapees, Mohd Sohel Khan alias Shibu Salim Khan and Prem alias Nepali Shalikram Khatri were apprenhended in a well-planned operation by Crime Branch on 14.5.2015. Later, Akash alias Golu Rajjusingh Thakur was nabbed from Pandhurna town of Madhya Pradesh. Recapture of these three escapees led to arrest of the mastermind Satyendra alias Rahul Rajbahadur Gupta no sooner than on 12.7.2015. But the fifth one Bisensingh Rammulal Uike was successfully dodging the net of Crime Branch sleuths. Since then he was hotly trailed.
On 16.4.2016, the luck of the fifth escapee Bisensingh Rammulal Uike ran out. He was nabbed from his native town Dhumamal, Habsor Taluka, District Seoni in Madhya Pradesh.

Attack on cops

The hardcore criminal identified as Bhishen Singh alias Ramulal Uike had attacked the cops who had gone to arrest him with a large knife. However, the cops fired on him. The accused ducked and escaped getting injured in the firing. However, the cops overpowered him and arrested him and brought back to Nagpur late in the evening of April 16, 2016. DCP Ranjan Kumar Sharma said that a case under section 307 will be registered in Seoni (MP) against the accused for attempting to kill the cops.


Painstaking monitoring

According to Deputy Commissioner of Police (Crime) Ranjan Kumar Sharma, the accused Bhishen Singh alias Ramulal Uike was hiding in a village called Barela Village, Dhansor Taluka, Seoni, Madhya Pradesh. This village is said to be in the interior and surrounded by hills, mountains and trees. The Nagpur Crime Branch has been monitoring his movements for a long time. Last three months they had aggressively intensified the monitoring. The cops got to know the present mobile number that the accused is using. The accused used to come once in every month to speak to other accused. The cops who were tracking his phone had gone nearly 35-40 times to Seoni to apprehend him but almost every time he used to slip out of their hands. The cops could not go to the village since it was a closed knit village (with a probability of Naxal sympathizers) and entry of a stranger would have alerted him and he would have escaped for good, given the reputation that he has garnered of escaping from many jails on previous occasions too.

The cops had a difficult task of establishing and ascertaining his identity too.

The above action of apprehending the hardcore accused was done under the personal directions of Commissioner of Police S P Yadav, Joint Commissioner of Police Rajwardhan Singh and supervised by Additional Commissioner of Police (Crime) Ranjan Kumar Sharma and Assistant Commissioner of Police Nilesh Raut.

The cops who braved and managed to arrest the accused include Police Inspector Chandrashekhar Dole, Police Sub Inspector Pradeep Atulkar, Nayak Police Constable Manish Bhonsle, Nayak Police Constable Manjeet Thakur, Nayak Police Constable Baljeet Thakur, Police Constable Amit Bhure and Police Constable Feroz Khan. The cops of Dhantoli Police Station have registered a case under Case No. 3032/15 under Sections 224, 225, 120 (B) and 34 of Indian Penal Code.


Sources in police claimed that local police had given a shoot-at-sight order against gang leader Raju when he fired at policemen during a shootout.Finally, the Nagpur Crime Branch personnel had succeeded in apprehending him from the Pratapgarh area of Uttar Pradesh. Since then he is lodged in Nagpur Central Prison. The escaped prisoners Dattyendra Bahadur Gupta, Mohammed Shoaib Khan, Prem alias Nepali Salikram Khatri and Rajju Singh Thakur were arrested by Nagpur Crime Branch by May 18, 2015.