Published On : Sun, Jul 26th, 2015

Dixit retained as VCA chief, Damle new secy

vca-agmNagpur: Prakash Dixit has been retained as Vidarbha Cricket Association (VCA) president for another term of two years while secretary Wijay has been replaced by Dattatray Damle .

This will be the third team of Prakash Dixit as the president. Saturday was the last day of withdrawal. Since there was no opposition Manohar panel led by Prakash Dixit was elected unopposed. Most of the office-bearers of previous body has retained their positions. Sharad Padhye will continue as joint secretary for another team. Jaideo Kale has been promoted as joint secretary. Advocate Adwait Manohar and Prafulla Doshi have retained their places as vice-presidents. Kishor Dewani will also work as the treasurer for one more term.

The executive members include Nitesh Upadhyaya, Sameer Gujar, Gautam Kale, Rajesh Joshi, Anand Deshpande, Parheez Gimi, Chandrakant Manke, Murali Pantula, Bhupendra Bhatti, Farooq Dastur, Amar Karlekar, Parimal Vaidya.

Vishwas Sahasrabhojanee, Pravin Hingnikar and Satish Shukla have been dropped.

The selectors include Shrirang Abhyankar, Murthy Rajan, Imran Ali, Shashi Kanetkar, Shirish Najbile, Bharat Thakre, Dilip Parteki, Pritam Gandhe, Tarun Patel, Atul Sahasrabudhe, Shirish Joshi, Aniruddha Palkar.

The annual general meeting of the association will be held on August 1. While talking to Lokmat Times Prakash Dixit said, ” Our main focus will be to improve the cricket in region and will take it to new height”. The president also said that in coming days VCA will be hosting Test match against South Africa and two World Cup T-20 matches inclding one India game. Prakash Dixit Damle