Published On : Sat, Jul 25th, 2015

Divya Ghurde on Bio-diversity Committee

Boitic Diversities Manegment Election News Photo 24 July 2015

Nagpur: Corporator Dibya Ghurde, representing panel (Prabhag) No. 47 of Nagpur Municipal Coporation has been unanimously elected as chairperson of Bio-diversity Management Committee of NMC.

Her election was held at Dr Pnajabrao Deshmukh Standing Committee Hall on July 24, at 11 am. NMC Mayor Praveen Datke presided over the proceedings when her name was recommended by NMC secretary Harsh Dubey to be elected unopposed to the post of chairperson, NMC Bio-diversity Management Committee, as there was no other applicant in the race.
Divya’s name, on the basis of her application, was proposed by Sandeep Jadhav and it was seconded by Adv Sanjay Balpande. As no other applicant came forward during the time allotted, Divya Ghurde’s name became suitable for unanimous election. Accordingly, the mayor announced her name for the post.

During the election, only three members, namely, Divya Ghurde, Adv Sanjay Balpande and Sandeep Jadhav were present while Bhagyashri Kantode, Adv Rekha Barahate and Satyabhama Lokhande remained absent.

Mayor Datke greeted Divya Ghurde for her election and handed her a ‘Tulsi’ plant as a goodwill gesture in the prominent presence of standing committee chairman Ramesh Shingare, Sunil Agrawal, Harish Dubey and Sudhir Mate.
The formation of Bio-diversity Management Committee is as per the state government’s decision for implementation of Bio-diversity Act, 2008, vide its clause 23(2), and NMC’s resolution No. 259, dated 16.7.2014. The committee will have 23 members with experts and invitees from distinct fields of bio-diversity, inclusive of 6 members from among public representatives, informed a press release issued by NMC.