Published On : Sun, May 26th, 2013
Sports News | By Nagpur Today Nagpur News

District-Level Cycle Polo Tourney begins with major clubs registering wins on the first day

Nagpur News:

The District-Level Cycle Polo Tournament witnessed grand victories of Gandhi Yuvak Kendra, Nehru Yuvak Kendra, and Bhagat Singh Yuvak Kendra. The Tournament is being organized by the District Amateur Cycle Polo Association in memory of Rashtrasant Tukdoji Maharaj at Urdu High School Ground, Ajni in Nagpur.

In the first match of the tournament, Gandhi Yuvak Kendra defeated Riders Club by a margin of 3-2. Piyush Belkhode, representing Gandhi Yuvak Kendra, scored 2 goals whereas Sanjay Sahare struck 1 goal ensuring a victory for their club. Uttam Itankar created several hurdles for an easy victory for Gandhi Yuvak Kendra by hitting the nets twice for Riders Club thus giving a tough fight for his rivals.

In another match, Nehru Yuvak Kendra carved out a huge victory against Youth Welfare Club by a brilliant 5-1 margin. Vipin Sakhre, displaying excellent skills, sent the ball crashing into the goalpost  of Youth Welfare Club twice. Ukey, Aman Baisware, and Sahil Sheikh, not to be left behind, scored a goal each. The Youth Welfare Club boys were satisfied by scoring only 1 goal thus surrendering meekly to the strong Nehru Yuvak Kendra.

In the third match of the day, Gandhi Yuvak Kendra got a drubbing at the hands of Bhagat Singh Yuvak Kendra by2-6 margin. The ace player of Bhagat Singh Yuvak Kendra Mohit Khobragade emerged supreme by scoring 4 goals himself  in the victory margin of 6-2. The other player Pranay Pillewar further humiliated Gandhi Yuvak Kendra by hitting the ball two times thus sealing the match by 6-2 in their favour.