Published On : Wed, May 25th, 2016

Deshpande Hall chairs needs urgent replacement – VTA

VTA with PWD Ex Engr May 2016
Vigilant citizens Shashank Vishwarupe, Arch. Hemant Malani, Dr. Vinay Tule, Shiraz Doongaji and others raised issue of pathetic conditions of audience chairs in Vasantrao Deshpande Hall on social networking site Facebook, wherein they brought knowledge of this to Vidarbha Taxpayers Association (VTA) to take this issue to the concerned authorities.

Accordingly a delegation of VTA led by its president J. P. Sharma met Sachin Kurve – collector Nagpur, who informed that he has already sanctioned Rs.80 lakh for this purpose and guided VTA delegation to meet Executive Engineer State PWD for further information on this. Collector also passed appropriate order on memorandum submitted.

As a result VTA delegation met Sanjay Indurkar – Executive Engineer State PWD in his office and submitted memorandum having directions of Collector.

J. P. Sharma submitted that Nagpur is fortunate to have such a wonderful facility of cultural cum community hall in our city – Vasantrao Deshpande Hall at Civil Lines, Nagpur and it has been serving the citizens brilliantly.

Tejinder Singh Renu brought to the knowledge of the Executive Engineer that over the period and numerous uses, the condition of audience chairs has gone bad to worse and needs repairs / replacement on topmost priority, which is giving negative marking to our Orange City.

Deshpande hall Chairs
Renu also submitted that although the audio system is quite reasonable however as per improvement in audio technology, much advance versions are available in market including better cooling facility and lighting; hence these portion of the issues can also be considered while carrying renovation / up-gradation of this remarkable facility in public interest.

Executive Engineer Indurkar appreciating VTA’s efforts informed that from 1st July on ward Vasantrao Deshpande Hall will remain close for a month for replacement of all 960 chairs. He also showed other documents related to development of the area which is soon to be offered by way of Expression of Interest (EOI) for offers.

Also present along with VTA delegation were joint secretary Hemant Trivedi and executive body member Amarjeet Singh Chawla.