Published On : Mon, Jun 24th, 2019

Datke vows to carry forward glorious tradition of city BJP

Nagpur: “I shall try to carry forward the glorious tradition conserved by subsequent city unit President of the Party,” vowed newly selected President of Bharatiya Janata Party’s City Unit Pravin Datke. On Sunday he took charge at Party’s Ganeshpeth office where party workers, MLAs, MLCs, Corporators, Mandal Presidents were present in large number. Raosaheb Danve, State BJP President on Saturday declared name of Datke in Mumbai. After returning to Nagpur, Datke, a 39-year-old fiery leader received rousing welcome at Nagpur’s Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar International Airport.

He took name of all past Presidents and senior party leaders of Nagpur whom he attributed his success. He specially made a mention of Union Minister Nitin Gadkari and Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and expressed gratitude towards them for showing confidence in him. Datke said, “The challenge ahead is not easy.

Though we have registered victory in Lok Sabha, we need to do more work as far as party’s strengthening is concerned. I am aware of the challenges in front of me but past presidents have made my path a bit easy.” He became a bit touchy when he remembered name of his late father Prabhakarrao Datke who also was City BJP President in whose footsteps, Pravin will move.

A galaxy of leaders including outgoing President MLA Sudhakar Kohale, other MLAs Sudhakar Deshmukh, Krishna Khopde, Dr Milind Mane, Vikas Kumbhare, Rajya Sabha Member Dr Vikas Mahatme, Mayor Nanda Jichkar, Organisational Secretary Dr Upendra Kothekar, Subhash Pardhi, Ruling Party Leader in Nagpur Municipal Corporation Sandip Joshi, Chairman of Health Committee, NMC Virendra Kukreja, Sandip Jadhav, Deputy Mayor Deepraj Pardikar, Bhojraj Dumbe, Jaiprakash Gupta, Ramesh Bhandari, Kishan Gawande, Bandu Raut, Sanjay Thakre, Dilip Gour, Mahendra Raut, Sunil Mitra, Pramod Pendke, Shivani Dani, Abdul Qadir, Deaven Dasture, Pragati Patil, Dr Kirtida Ajmera, Navneet Singh Tuli, Babli Meshram, Prabhakar Yeole, Manish Meshram, Mahendra Kataria, Shyam Chandekar, Deepak Wadibhasme, Nana Umate, Nishant Gandhi, Dr Vinky Rughwani, Ketan Mohitkar, Vijay Kewalramani and others.