Published On : Mon, Aug 14th, 2017

Cops foil armed dacoity, nab 6-member gang

Cops foil armed dacoity
Nagpur: Acting on inputs being flashed by Police Control Room about movement of some armed persons in Kalamna area, the sleuths of Crime Branch Unit 5 raided the spot and nabbed a gang of six members who were planning dacoities.

A team of Crime Branch Unit 5, led by API Vikrant Sagane, was on a search operation around 9.30 pm on Saturday. The team was on the lookout for a murder suspect against whom an offence was lodged at Kalamna Police Station. During the patrol, the team heard an alert being flashed by Control Room that a gang of armed persons was loitering near Umiya Dham Bridge. Acting swiftly, the team rushed to the spot and surrounded the gang. Even before the gang could plan escape from the spot, the raiding cops detained them and brought them to the office of Crime Branch. Subsequent interrogation revealed that the gang was planning loot as well as dacoity. A scan of record showed that the gang was involved in dacoity attempts, burglary, riots, possession of lethal arms and other serious cases.

The cops have seized sharp weapons and other material from their possession. The accused have been identified as Akash Chintaman Meshram (22), a resident of Bhandewadi, Pardi; Dipak Asaram Salame (27), a resident of Rambhuli Society; Ankush Dhanraj Sahastrabuddhe (29), a resident of Pardi; Riten Shivcharan Shivhare (27), a resident of Gulshan Nagar; Avinash Babanrao Pardikar (25), a resident of Indira Gandhi Nagar; Dhiraj Bandu Farkade (23), a resident of Pardi.

After procuring PCR of the accused, the accused were subjected to further interrogation. During the grilling, the mastermind of the gang Dheeraj Banduji Farkade told police that he and other members of the gang had looted Managers of two petrol pumps two months ago. The petrol pumps were situated on Bhandara Road.

The accused have been booked under Sections 399, 402 of IPC read with sub-sections 4,25 of Arms Act and Section 135 of the BP Act and placed under arrest..

The task was carried out by Crime Branch Unit 5 API Vikrant Sagane, API Dharmendra Avare, PSI Ashish Chechre, constables Rajesh Yadav, Prakash Sidam, NPCs Mangesh Lande, Ritesh Dhenge, Ravi Shahu, Arun Chandne, Ajay Baghel, Namedeo Tekam, and Sepoy Pritam Thakur under the guidance of Commissioner of Police Dr K Venkatesham, Joint CP Shivaji Bodkhe, DCP (Crime) Sambhaji Kadam, ACP Somnath Waghchaure.