Published On : Tue, Jul 7th, 2015

Cong wrests Bhandara Zilla Parishad from BJP

Bhandara/Nagpur: The ruling BJP suffered a major setback in Bhandara Zilla Parishad election by losing half of the seats it had won in the previous election. The BJP could manage to bag only 12 seats. Congress and the NCP, however, resurrected their fortune by wining 20 and 15 seats respectively in the 52 seats zilla parishad.

Although, the Congress and NCP suffered shameful drubbing by BJP in the Lok Sabha and State Assembly elections last year, this time around they led the saffron party to bite the dust.

In this election, all the major parties like Congress, BJP, NCP and Shiv Sena had adopted go it alone policy. Probably due this policy, no party could secure absolute majority. However, pollsters, following the fractured results, are not ruling alliance between Congress and friend turned foe NCP.

Notably, in the 2010 zilla parishad poll, the BJP had won 24 seats. But the voters in this election reduced the saffron party with just 12 seats. While Shiv Sena could win only 2 seats, four independent candidates made it to the ZP body.