Change of Mayor, Deputy, Ruling Party Leader on cards by Oct end

Nagpur: Irrespective of the statement by City BJP President Sudhakar Kohale asserting there is no plan to change Mayor, Deputy Mayor and the Ruling Party Leader, the top party leadership, it is leant, has decided to go ahead with the plan. Accordingly, soon after the conclusion of the 18th Mayors’ Conference being hosted by Nagpur Municipal Corporation on October 27, BJP could undertake the exercise to change the three office-bearers.

After coming to power in NMC for the consecutive third time, the BJP had decided to give one post or another to its 108 Corporators. The party had decided nominate four Mayors in the five-year tenure. It means each Mayor would have tenure of 15 months. By this logic, the current Mayor Nanda Jichkar has not only completed her tenure but still holding the post. Moreover, the sordid episode in which the Mayor took her son as Personal Secretary on US voyage has left the party embarrassed. The party is now contemplating to replace her. The party is also likely to replace Deputy Mayor as well as the Ruling Party Leader in NMC.

Since the current Ruling Party Leader Sandeep Joshi has been appointed Chairman of State Small Scale Industries Corporation and has status of Minister of State, the Ruling Party Leader will also be changed. The winds of change have started to blow. The next Mayor from West Nagpur could be Varsha Thakre. The mantle of Deputy Mayor could fall on Rajesh Ghodpage while the Ruling Party Leader has been decided to be from Central Nagpur. The post may go to the senior Corporator and former office-bearer.

The change of guard is likely to be effected soon after the Mayors’ Conference being hosted by Nagpur Municipal Corporation on October 27.

Earlier, the City BJP President Sudhakar Kohale refuted the report in this regard and asserted that there is no move to make changes at all. But it seems, the top BJP leadership has decided to go for the change.