Published On : Tue, Apr 30th, 2013
Latest News | By Nagpur Today Nagpur News

BJP wins three posts, BSP 1, and Atal Bahadur Group 1 in NMC’s five zonal polls for Chairmen

Nagpur Today:

On the second day of elections for the posts of Chairmen of five Zones of Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC) were held on April 30. It may be recalled a meeting of core committee of BJP leaders was held at Nitin Gadkari’s residence in Ram Nagar on April 28. The leaders who were present at the meeting included State unit party President and MLA Devendra Fadnavis, Nagpur unit President and MLA Krishna Khopde, another party MLA Sudhakar Deshmukh, Mayor Anil Sole, NMC Standing Committee Chairman Avinash Thakre, Ruling Party Leader in NMC Pravin Datke, and others. The had prepared a strategy for elections to five zones Gandhibagh, Satranjipura, Lakadganj, Aasi Nagar and Mangalwari Zones.

After the discussion in the meeting the BJP leaders had decided to field Corporator from Ward 42 Rashmi Ajay Fadnavis for Gandhibagh Zone in place present Chairperson of party Corporator Uma Gathibandhe. For Satranjipura Zone the party has shown trust on present Chairman Kalpak Bhanarkar and has decided to retain him for the post. For Lakadganj Zone, the party has decided change the present Chairman the BJP Corporator Sarita Kavre and fielded the party Corporator from Bharatnagar Pradeep Pohane. All three Corporators of BJP were declared elected.

As far as Aasi Nagar Zone is concerned the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) decided to replace its Corporator Abhishek Shambharkar by fielding its candidate Gautam Patil, Corporator from Nari and he was too elected Chairman of Aasi Nagar Zone. In Mangalwari Zone, Ravinder Kaur Bava, Corporator from  Mecosabagh, and belonging to Congress supported Atal Bahadur Singh group was elected Chairman in place of Suresh Jaggyasi the Congress Corporator for the Lakadganj Zone. Congress decision to make Bava the Chairman is interpreted by the party leaders for taking advantage in the upcoming Lok Sabha polls.

In yesterday’s polls, two factors came to  fore that the BJP lost the election for Hanuman Nagar Zone due to differences between party Corporators Chhotu Bhoyar from Ward No 42 and Sarita Nandurkar and secondly, some leaders of NCP in connivance of  BJP leaders got elected NCP’s Raju Nagulwar for post of Chairman for Hanuman Nagar Zone. These NCP leaders are trying for years for the Rajya Sabha seat from BJP quota. The NCP leaders are indulging in misleading their own top leaders for vested interests.