Published On : Sat, Sep 23rd, 2017

BJP fields Sandeep Gavai for by-poll in Prabhag 35(A)

Sandeep Gavai
Nagpur: Bharatiya Janata Party has fielded Sandeep Gavai for the by-poll to be held in Prabhag 35(A) on October 11. The seat fell vacant after the newly elected BJP Corporator Nilesh Kumbhare passed away due to brief illness. The result of the by-poll will be declared on October 12.

Originally the seat was for BREM (Bahujan Republican Ekta Manch) headed by Adv Sulekha Kumbhare as part of alliance between BJP and BREM. BJP gave two seats to BREM but fielded its candidate Nilesh Kumbhare from Prabhag 35(A) in the February 2017 NMC election. Kumbhare won the election. However, he passed away in April after a brief illness. Before joining BJP, Nilesh Kumbhare was in RPI.

Sandeep Gavai had won the NMC election in 2007. In the 2012 election, he was defeated by NCP’s Prakash Gajbhiye. Gavai had also fought MLS’s election from Umred as well as MLC poll from Bhandara-Gondia but lost both the elections.

The nomination papers are being filed between September 16 and September 23. The nomination papers will be scrutinized on September 25. The final list of eligible candidates will be announced on same day. The last date for withdrawal of candidature will be September 27. The election will be held on October 11 and result declared the next day.