BJP captures all 10 posts of Zone Chairpersons

NMC Nagpur
In yet another sterling feat, Bharatiya Janata Party captured all the posts of Chairpersons in 10 Zones of Nagpur Municipal Corporation. Out of the 10 posts, the party candidates in nine zones were elected unopposed. And in the one remaining zone, the party nominee had a cake walk in the election as Congress withdrew its candidate making it a direct fight between BJP and BSP. The BJP candidate defeated BSP nominee with the “surprise” support of Congress.

BJP has 108 Corporators in the House of 151 members.

The elections to the posts of Chairpersons in 10 zones were held on Thursday at NMC Headquarters in Civil Lines. BJP’s candidates who were elected unopposed in nine zones include Prakash Bhoyar (Laxmi Nagar), Roopa Rai (Dharampeth), Bhagwan Mendhe (Hanuman Nagar), Pramod Chikhle (Dhantoli), Rekha Sakore (Nehru Nagar), Sumedha Deshpande (Gandhibag), Sanjay Chawre (Satranjipura), Deepak Wadibhasme (Lakadganj) and Sushma Choudhari (Mangalwari).

In Mangalwari Zone, BJP has eight members and its Sushma Choudhari was contesting election for post of zonal chairperson. Congress has five members and BSP has three members. However, despite having five members, Congress did not field its candidate. The BSP had pitted Sanjay Burrewar against Chaudhari in the poll. However, in the last minute development the BSP nominee withdrew from the fray leaving the ring open for BJP candidate Sushma Chaudhari who ultimately emerged winner as Chairperson of the Zone. Interestingly, Congress member Gargi Chopra chose to remain absent during the poll. Gargi had created a flutter by resigning from the post of Corporator the day she had won in the NMC election.

In Ashinagar Zone, curious turn of events saw BJP’s Bhagyashri Kantode won the election for the post of Chairperson. Initially, Congress had fielded Bhavna Lonare for the post. Vaishali Narnavre of BSP was also in the fray. Congress has six members while BSP has seven members in this zone. Whereas, BJP has only three members. However, Congress candidate Bhavna Lonare withdrew from the contest. Surprisingly, the party extended its support to BJP candidate Bhagyashri Kantode ensuring her victory against BSP’s Vaishali Narnavre. Moreover, one of Congress members Sandeep Sahare remained absent during voting.