Published On : Thu, Aug 21st, 2014

Bishan Singh Bedi to grace SJAN-Raisoni award function

20Bedi (2)Nagpur News.

Carrying forward its tradition of felicitating outstanding sportspersons of the city, Sports Journalists’ Association of Nagpur (SJAN) in association with Raisoni Group will hold its annual awards function on September 7 (Sunday) at Scientific Hall, Laxmi Nagar.

Former Indian cricketer Bishan Singh Bedi will be the chief guest on the occasion. He has played Test cricket for India from 1966 to 1979 and formed part of the famous Indian spin quartet. He also captained the national side in 22 Test matches.

Baidyanath Ayurved, Mahatma Gandhi High School, Centre Point School, Bank of Maharashtra and Deaven Dasture family are the co-sponsors of the event.

Total seven awards including senior and junior sportspersons in men’s and women’s categories, sports organizer, best school and college will be presented on the occasion.

Names of the awardees will be announced soon. In the past SJAN’s annual awards functions have been graced as chief guest by eminent people including ex-Test stars  Krishnamachari Srikkanth, Dilip Vengsarkar, Sanjay Manjrekar, badminton star Jwala Gutta, shooter Anjali Bhagwat, Olympian Mukesh Kumar, former India stumper Kiran More, Indian Cricket Board chief Adv Shashank Manohar, world’s most-capped hockey star Dilip Tirkey, former Indian pace bowler Vyankatesh Prasad other sports personalities.