Published On : Tue, Nov 10th, 2020

Bihar polls result today: Nitish or Tejashwi?

The verdict of the Bihar elections will be out today. The voters will decide whether Nitish Kumar, the incumbent Chief Minister’s Janata Dal-United, rules for the next five years or whether his former deputy, 31-year-old Tejashwi Yadav, candidate of the Rashtriya Janata Dal, Congress and the Left alliance, rules the state. If Nitish wins, it will be his fourt term.

Most exit polls have predicted a majority for the Mahagathbandhan of the RJD, Cong and Left.
But exit polls often get it wrong.
The election took place amid a bitter campaign that saw the Chief Minister battling anti-incumbency, a rebellion by Lok Janshakti Party’s Chirag Paswan against his leadership – seen by many as being backed by the BJP – and Prime Minister Narendra Modi replacing Mr Kumar as the de facto face of the NDA in the state.