Published On : Fri, Aug 7th, 2015

BCom students protest over undervaluation of papers, taken into custody

bcom-aap-nagpurNagpur: Even as the B Com students (new syllabus) of Rashtrasant Tukdoji Maharaj Nagpur University are agitated over the bungling of the first year examination results, which has 82 per cent students failing, it has come to the fore that some students have actually cleared the examination but have been declared as fail. As a result of this gross error on the part of RTMNU, the students are likely to lose a precious one year.

Already many results of summer 2015 examinations are pending. In such a scenario, the announcement of results of Bcom first year (new syllabus) came as a shocker to many students, because about 82 per cent students “failed” in the examination.

A glance at the marksheets reveals that some students have cleared the exams, yet they have been declared as fail. This newspaper has the marksheets of some such students in its possession.

For example, the PLV and EDV subjects are of 70 marks. For passing in these subjects, the students are required to secure a minimum of 25 marks. However, some students among those declared as fail have scored more than 30 marks.

At present, the failed students are not eligible for allowed to keep term (ATKT) and may lose one year. When this was brought to the notice of pro-vice chancellor of RTMNU Dr Pramod Yeole, he said that it is a technical fault. He assured that the mistake will be rectified.

Agitating students taken into custody

The students” wing of Aam Aadmi Party on Thursday staged a demonstration at the university premises on the issue of B Com results fiasco. The student activists raised slogans against the university administration and demanded revaluation of the B Com first year answer papers, announcement of the pending results at the earliest, disclosure of proper information of Dr Dhawankar issue and the issue of the Mohta Science college students. In apprehension of the trouble getting out of hand, the university administration informed the police. Soon, a posse of police from the Sitabuldi police station rushed to the spot. To avoid any untoward incident, the police took the protesting students into custody.

The convenor of the students” wing of AAP Krital Welekar, Bhagyashree Vyavahare, Shubham Bhire, Mayuri Paunikar, Priya Jain, Ankita Nakhate, Gulshan Thakre