Published On : Tue, Jan 30th, 2018

Batch of 2004 regain SFS OBA Cricket Trophy 2017-18


SFS Cricket 2018
Nagpur: Continuing its trend started in 2016, SFS School Old Boys’ Association (OBA) conducted third successful SFS OBA Inter Batch Tennis Ball Cricket Tournament 2017-18 at SFS School ground, Sadar wherein 16 batch teams represented; eldest being 1983 batch and youngest 2014 batch, which again generated lot of enthusiasm and joy amongst the ex students.

Prize distribution was carried at the hands of Chief Guest Ex Indian Cricketer Prashant Vaidya – vice president of Vidarbha Cricket Association (VCA) and Guest of Honour Father Prashant Karavallil – Principal SFS School in the presence of SFS OBA vice president Tejinder Singh Renu.

This tournament was conducted and coordinated by SFS OBA Cricket Tournament Committee members consisting of Sandeep Pathak, Santosh Jaswani, Manish Batra, Sandeep Mishra, Rama Rao and Devanshu Patel.

Four Teams that reached Semi-finals were 2000, 2002, 2004 and 2012; while Batch of 2004 and 2012 reached the finals after exciting semi-finals; wherein 2004 elected to bat first & gave target of 106 runs in 12 overs, which initially 2012 started well, however quick fall of few wickets converted easy win for 2004.

The winning team members of 2004 Batch were Harish Gehani (Captain), Rasik Jidewar, Vivek Amarnani, Bhavik Patel, Kishor Patel, Mayur Makheja, Gaurav Kamdar, Sumit Motwani, Syed Shabaz, Varun Chourasia, Brian Bastian, Pratik Bhanarkar, Bhupinder Singh Osan, Bharatraj Singh Oberoi and Deepak Krishnani.

Rama Rao from 1995 batch was declared Man of the Series, Best Batsman of the tournament was awarded to Akshya Dadwe of 2012 Batch and Best Bowler awarded to Shashank Bansod from 2012 batch, while Brian Bastian was declared Man of the Match of final. Prize distribution event was conducted by Nirmalya Sinha on 1991 batch.