Published On : Sun, Nov 14th, 2021
Sports News | By Nagpur Today Nagpur News

Australia are T20 World CHAMPIONS!

Australia won their maiden T20 World Cup title as they defeated New Zealand in the final by 8 wickets. Chasing a target of 173, Australia won the game with 7 balls to spare, thanks to half-centuries from Mitchell Marsh and David Warner.

Earlier, Kane Williamson smashed a brilliant 48-ball 85 as New Zealand managed to reach a total of 172/4 from their quota of 20 overs. For Australia, Josh Hazlewood was the pick of the bowlers with 3 for 16 while Adam Zampa returned figures of 1/26.

Initially, Australia won the toss and skipper Aaron Finch elected to bowl against New Zealand in the T20 World Cup final at the Dubai International Stadium on Sunday. Both teams finished second in their groups behind table toppers England and Pakistan. New Zealand edged England in the first semi-final at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi before Australia defeated an in-form Pakistan team in the second semi-final in Dubai.