Published On : Wed, Aug 3rd, 2016

Anjuman, SFS, Hislop, Sindhu storm into semi-finals

Anjuman High School, SFS College, Hislop and Sindhu Mahavidyalaya stormed into the semi-finals of ongoing Subroto Mukherjee Suburban Inter-School Under-17 Football by winning their respective quarter-finals here on August 2, 2016. The tournament organised by DSO at SFS College ground.

In the first quarter-final of the day, Anjuman High School ousted CPS Wardhaman Nagar 2-0 to cement its place in the final four. Anjuman boys played aggressively right from the very first minute and their strategy soon brought fruitful results. Uzaif scored a superb goal in the ninth minute to put Anjuman on driver’s seat. A few minutes later Amir Sohail doubled the lead. CPS boys tried their level best to level the score but all their efforts went in vain.

In the second quarter-final, SFS College showed the exit door to SFS School 1-0. Sourabh K scored the lone goal in the very fifth minute. Both the teams failed to score any goal thereafter.

The third quarter-final between Hislop and Dinanath was an absolute thriller. Both the teams scored two goals each in the regulation time, hence pushing the match towards tie-breaker.

In the routine time, Abid Sheikh and Ravi Roka scored goals for Hislop while Bhushan Yende and Sheikh Irfaan were the goal scorers for Dinanath. Interestingly, Dinanath got lead twice in the match, but Hislop boys managed the equaliser. On the first occasion, Yende scored a superb goal in sixth minute. Abid scored the equaliser for Hislop seven minutes later. Then Irfaan gave lead to Dinanath in 24th minute. However, just three minutes later Roka levelled the score.

In the tie-breaker, Hislop boys proved more accurate to oust Dinanath 5-3. Hashim Raza, Nabeel Khan, Sahil Masham, Ravi, Reyon Xaveir scored goals for Hislop. Sheikh Irfaan, Karan Badge and Priyank scored goals for Dinanath.

In the fourth quarter-final Sindhu Mahavidyalaya defeated St Michael 3-1 via tie-breaker. In the scheduled time both the teams scored a goal each. Shamit Gajbhiye scored the first goal of the match in 18th minute to provide lead to Sindhu Mahavidyalaya. Sohail Akhtar scored the equaliser in 31st minute.

In tie-breaker Ericswami Anthony and Bhuvan Jerpoth scored goals for Sindhu Mahavidyalaya.

Meanwhile, organisers informed that all the semi-final matches will be played on August 3, 2016. They will be followed by the summit-clash.

Meanwhile, in suburb football category, Bhavan’s Ashti, MM Rabbani, Modern Koradi and DPS entered the semi-final round by winning their respective quarter-final matches.

In the first quarter-final of suburb category, Bhavan’s Ashti defeated GH Raisoni 2-0. Dev Deshmukh scored the first goal in 12th minute. Just five minutes later Chetak Jain doubled the lead in 17th minute. GH Raisoni boys tried their level best to stage a comeback, but all their efforts proved futile in front of rock solid defence of Bhavan’s Ashti.

In the second quarter-final, MM Rabbani beat K John school 1-0. Ashir Hafeez scored the lone goal in 20th minute.

In the third quarter-final Modern Koradi crushed Jain International 3-0. Samitraj Dhotre opened the scoring for Modern Koradi in 17th minute with a superb goal. Just five minutes later, Rakshit Sharma doubled the lead for his team in 22nd minute. Two minutes later, Prithvik Dange virtually ended Jain International’s journey in the tournament with the third goal in 24th minute.
In the fourth-quarter-final DPS beat St Joseph Convent Kamptee 5-4 via tie-breaker. Both the teams scored a goal each in the regulation time. Sanket Panbude scored the first goal of the match in 9th minute for DPS while Arjeet Sengupta scored the equaliser for St Joseph Convent Kamptee in 20th minute.

In tie-breaker Sourabh Pandey, Kanishk Rao and Naiman Thailand scored goals for DPS.